Psyche logo

👋🏾 Ya Got A Dirty Mind‼️

🔜Sunday Meditation➖

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 3 years ago • 10 min read
Like
Man carry trash out

Imagination is the ability to produce and simulate novel objects, sensations, and ideas in the mind without any immediate input of the senses. It is also described as the forming of experiences in one's mind, which can be re-creations of past experiences such as vivid memories with imagined changes, or they can be completely invented and possibly fantastic scenes.

The Imagination helps make knowledge applicable in solving problems and is fundamental to integrating experience and the learning process. Learning is the process of acquiring new understanding, knowledge, behaviors, skills, values, attitudes, and preferences. The ability to learn is possessed by humans, animals, and some machines; there is also evidence for some kind of learning in certain plants.

Some learning is immediate, induced by a single event (s.a. being burned by a hot stove), but much skill and knowledge accumulates from repeated experiences. The changes induced by learning often last a lifetime. Learning may occur consciously or without conscious awareness; such as learning that an aversive event can't be avoided nor escaped may result in a condition called learned helplessness.

Aversive, relating to or denoting aversion therapy, a type of behavior therapy designed to make one give up an undesirable habit by causing them to associate it with an unpleasant effect.

Learned helplessness is behavior exhibited by a subject after enduring repeated aversive stimuli beyond their control. This can also be known as BRAINWASHING.

Brainwashing (mind control, menticide, coercive persuasion, thought control, thought reform, and re-education) is the concept that the human mind can be altered or controlled by certain psychological techniques. Brainwashing is said to reduce its subjects' ability to think critically or independently, to allow the introduction of new, unwanted thoughts and ideas into their minds, as well as to change their attitudes, values and beliefs.

Learned helplessness is also related to the concept of self-efficacy; the individual's belief in their innate ability to achieve goals. This leads to the Learned helplessness theory which is the view that clinical depression and related mental illnesses may result from such real or perceived absence of control over the outcome of a situation. By most accounts, knowledge can be acquired in many different ways and from many sources, including but not limited to perception, reason, memory, testimony, scientific inquiry, education, and practice.

The philosophical study of knowledge is called epistemology,{e·pis·te·mol·o·gy} which studies the nature of knowledge, justification, the rationality of belief, and various related issues. This brings us to behaviors, which {is the actions and mannerisms made by individuals, organisms, systems or artificial entities in conjunction with themselves or their environment,} conscious or subconscious, overt or covert, and voluntary or involuntary. skills, values, attitudes, and preferences.

Human learning starts at birth (it might even start before) and continues until death as a consequence of ongoing interactions between people and their environment. Learning may occur consciously or without conscious awareness. awareness is the experience of one's own personality or individuality. It is not to be confused with consciousness in the sense of qualia. Examples of qualia include the perceived sensation of pain of a headache, the taste of wine, as well as the redness of an evening sky. While consciousness is being aware of one's environment and body and lifestyle, self-awareness is the recognition of that awareness. Self-awareness is how an individual consciously knows and understands their own character, feelings, motives, and desires. There are two broad categories of self-awareness: internal self-awareness and external self-awareness.

Imagination is a cognitive process. Cognition refers to "the mental action or process of acquiring knowledge and understanding through thought, experience, and the senses". It encompasses many aspects of intellectual functions and processes such as: attention, the formation of knowledge, memory and working memory, judgment and evaluation, reasoning and "computation", problem solving and decision making, comprehension and production of language. Cognitive processes use existing knowledge and generate new knowledge.

It is considered as such because it involves thinking about possibilities. The cognate term of mental imagery may be used in psychology for denoting the process of reviving in the mind recollections of objects formerly given in sense perception.

Since this use of the term conflicts with that of ordinary language, some psychologists have preferred to describe this process as "imaging" or "imagery" or to speak of it as "reproductive" as opposed to "productive" or "constructive" imagination. Constructive imagination is further divided into active imagination driven by the prefrontal cortex (PFC) and spontaneous PFC-independent imagination such as REM-sleep dreaming, daydreaming, hallucinations, and spontaneous insight. The active types of imagination include integration of modifiers, and mental rotation. Imagined images, both novel and recalled, are seen with the "mind's eye".

Imagination can also be expressed through stories such as fairy tales or fantasies, is a genre of speculative fiction which is a broad category of fiction encompassing genres with certain elements that are nonexistent in terms of reality, recorded history, or nature and the present universe set in a fictional universe, often inspired by real world myth and folklore.

Children often use such narratives and pretend play in order to exercise their imaginations. When children develop fantasy they play at two levels: first, they use role playing (is the changing of one's behaviour to assume a role, sometimes unconsciously to fill a social role).

They act out what they have developed with their imagination, and at the second level they play again with their make-believe situation by acting as if what they have developed is an actual reality.

02. THE COMMENTARY:

Sometimes I think, today I’ll talk about myself. I look at the world through a certain lens. A lens that is comfortably crafted, with my own experiences and circumstances. Sometimes I have to tell myself, you can’t hate every preacher, just because 98.2% of em are going to hell, there is is that loose 1.8% thats walking along the straight and narrow. Sometimes I gotta tell myself, every Christian ain’t crazy, and every watch this white face isn’t my enemy, and every black face isn’t my friend. Sometimes I have to tell myself, just because everyone before left, doesn’t mean, everybody is fin to leave now. Sometimes I gotta tell myself, boy get out yo head.. Its dangerous up there.

On occasion, I take time to listen to folks. I like to hear what they're thinking. I like to try and understand how they’re feeling. And sometimes I find myself seeking the answer to a question. Don’t worry, today Ima ask myself. Ya ever looked at somebody, and point blank cast judgment on em?

The other day, I was in one of them new grocery chains, to hit this corner of these states united. While doing my shopping, minding my business, I saw this girl. She was headed in my direction. She looked, yep, my mind had assured me it was. SNAKE WOMAN. The face was still unidentifiable, but she had that dirty long hair, and a walk, that would make a dog hassle, but a man with common sense puke. I was certain, I was charged, my insides was screaming out. SNAKE WOMAN, you wretched pill of earth, by then, she turned around.

Now I am sure you understand, she wasn’t snake woman. Now what if I had. I ask myself.. What if I had of attacked this girl, who was just looking at expensive goat cheese, which is a crime in itself. Everyone knows if you want good cheese, its gotta be American colored. And if it came from the government, that’s a plus. Ya know? Okay its just me, I’ll enjoy my chicken Sammich all by myself.

But what if I had of lashed out. Acting in accordance with my emotions, driven by my imagination?

Another point i desire to raise. When I was growing up, they swore by God, most our struggles were because of ADHD. I beg to differ. They said the reason I was failing was because I couldn’t pay attention, It wasn’t that, it was the garbage they were teaching. SIDE NOTE: for down at the school. PLEASE stop trying to program us to be what you want us to be, and cultivate us into who we were created to be.

I tell you I am a witness of that fact. Some of the biggest names, in this world, who control half if not collectively all of how we live, at one point fell victim to a system that trying to de program their imagination.

Silicon Valley California, aka school dropout USA is home to everyone from Apple to Facebook, Telsa to Samsung.

All who found themselves at the crossroads. Who were forced to operate according to this current environment, but to see the world, through the eyes of the chief executive of the universe.

But let me get back to these pills. Because I was once told I was hyper active, had a learning disorder. Now I am not saying we don’t have students who struggle in these areas, however I find it funny, One the ADHD clinical accounts dried up, I went from Hyper to creative.

One semester I made the B Honor Roll. Over at Bowling Park Elementary. They swore by God again. I had done it because the meditation was working. It was growing the brain muscles they said. I declare that was a lie, as far as I’m concerned the only thing that grew was the trash receptacle near the cafeteria entrance. And I know that, because its where I placed them pills.

It wasn’t that I couldn’t learn, for some that maybe the problem, I’ll leave that there, but for folks I know, personally perspective included, it wasn’t that I couldn’t learn, it was how could overcome the craziness at the house. But the answer was to make me a junkie, why because it was good for the budget. I wanna ask how many of em? Would have done it if they had to pay, how many of em, would have done it, if they it wasn’t financially benefiting, but they made us medical prostitutes, because it was good for business. Let me just bottom line this things, by saying I am somebody!! I was created for greatness, and anyone telling me other is liar from capital of Hell.

One more I had this inspiration to get in my car and go for a little drive. No I didn’t drive to the west side of norfolk, nor any other place which would tickle my architectural fancy. NO I drove to the projects. I begin to see their lives compared to mine. I saw how I wake up to freely flowing river; they arise to beeping Mack trucks hauling cement.

I look around at our communities. Asking the question. How can I condemn these people when it’s obvious they haven’t had the same opportunities I have? My friends, I tell you its easy to sit at the house in our comfortable chairs nicely positioned by the Mailbox awaiting the postal person with them SS Checks. But what about those who don’t have that option? Its easy to operate out of frustration. Why aren’t the people doing what I think they should do? Its simple, because they haven’t been blessed to know what you know?

And then we have those. Who are sitting quietly in the corner. You are the one thats scratching and clawing. You are the one cutting a chicken deluxe sandwich, just to make sure you have lunch and dinner. You are the one stuck in your world surrounded by them voices of negativity. If they aren’t coming from the people around you, they're coming from the sounds inside you.

Its easy to sit there and tell yourself people love you when they don’t. And even more easy to believe you’ll never be loved again. I’ve been in both camps ya see.

I know what it’s like to give everything you have, and get nothing in return. I know what its like to hype myself up, to convince myself what I was seeing wasn’t true. I know what its like to desperately cry out for love, only to get used and abused. And then once that nightmare was over to get faced with another demon. No one will ever love you. No one will ever care for you, you just screwed up, better yet you are just a screw up.

Today’s meditation helps us deal with the reprogramming of our minds. The link I below!!

👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾https://anchor.fm/erikdeseanbarrett/episodes/255---Ya-Mind-is-Dirty-epnns0

Until the Next Time we can Chat; from Me and Mine, unto you and Yours

➖❤️EDB

recovery
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.