Psyche logo

Why We Should Eliminate Sociopathy From the Gene Pool

It's High Time

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Eliminating sociopathy from the gene pool, now that is a concept. If we could rewrite the genes of a baby at conception, this idea could work. It is one way to treat genetic disabilities at any rate, and since I have 22q, Velocardiofacial syndrome, it is a way to treat this disorder that researchers at major clinics like Stanford are working on. Narcissism or sociopathic spectrum mental illness is not always something that you are born with but rather it is something that a person can develop due to something that happens at the age of 2 or 3, due to parenting styles.

Psychopathy is different from sociopathy in that psychopaths have no feelings whatsoever, although they can fake their way through life, some not going to jail. Genetic disorders of all kinds could be eliminated if we worked on a way to do so at conception. Antisocial personality disorder is something a narcissist can have, but narcissists are not as severe as a full-blown psychopath. Psychopaths do not take interest in the feelings of others, or the rules of society. Psychopaths often have a history of criminal behavior.

Sociopaths do not understand feelings, much and don't have access to them. Narcissistic Personality Disorder is characterized by grandiose ideas of fame, entitlement, and the feeling that they are always right, in the right, or are never wrong. Trust me, this kind of thing runs in my family. I now have the option of avoiding them. Some people do better in therapy, in particular if they have other personality disorders. Yes, we should do something to force sociopaths into therapy, although I have heard that not many therapists are skilled in handling sociopathic people or helping them work on their problems.

I've had one too many sociopathic friends at this point, for me to wonder what I do to attract them. I'm trying to seal myself off from sociopathic people. Sociopathy is what causes a criminal element in our society, as it stands right now in the 21st century. Sociopaths are a handful to deal with on a good day, and even worse to deal with on a bad day. Narcissism itself can be treated with therapy, lots of psychotherapy, that my family is busy depriving themselves of. At this point, I have three therapists in order to begin healing myself from my family's drama.

Sociopaths do a great many antisocial things like gaslighting, blaming other people, or picking fights. Fight pickers are not popular people if only because they are monsters who walk around pissing people off like this one guy at a bakery I used to work at years ago, who would pick fights with people over stupid things. He was able to pick fights over random things. Fight pickers at work, are bullies who want to get under your skin. When not being charming, a narcissist is a bully. Narcissists rarely show their true face to people. Then they crack up, it happens, and they deal with being given shade for the rest of their lives.

See, they are slimy devils that are hard to catch. It is truly hard to catch them in the act. They need to stay under the radar by pretending to be nice, but they can be underhanded and vicious. They insert the barb right as you are thinking, I'm okay, you're okay, and we're all okay. They are slippery fish to catch but I want to become an expert on catching one, treating one, and curing one. The narcissist needs to learn to contain their lack of empathy, and I have noticed more narcs lately that I didn't notice before. I take steps to protect myself from toxic people.

I've taken steps to cure myself of the need to help toxic people. Not every toxic person is a sociopath, some toxic people simply do not know how to be less needy or behave better. Toxic people are able to blend in, without making their toxicity obvious at first. I have recently been dumping toxic people who have a history of bullying me. Yes, I have dumped quite a few of those. I do this for my own personal safety, so I suggest my readers look long and hard at your "friends" and do what is best for you.

personality disorder
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.