Psyche logo

What is an Empath? Am I an Empath?

{Is it a bad thing?}

By Amanda JonesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Who is an Empath? Am I an Empathist (and is it a bad thing)?

My whole life I have been told that I am too sensitive or too emotional. “Amanda, stop being so dramatic” I have been told so many times that often I just stayed silent. The idea or concept of an empath is completely new to me. Of course, I have believed myself to be empathetic, but what is an “Empath” and am I an Empath? Just as importantly, to me… Is it good to be an empath, or at least is it acceptable? Interesting!

{First of all, I have absolutely no formal training or education regarding this concept. I do, however, believe I have personal experiences as an empath.}

Empathy is the capacity to understand or feel what another person is experiencing from within their frame of reference, that is, the capacity to place oneself in another's position. -- Wikipedia

The definition itself seems to me to be fairly simple & self-explanatory. Empathy is kindness, caring, and sensitivity that some individuals hold. I have always admired those with these qualities and want to do the same, but I thought they were actions or feelings. Now, I change my question to “Who is an empath”? I don’t think I have been around anybody who has used this term until recently. I need to know more!

Empathic people are highly sensitive to other people’s feelings and emotions.

Here are some of the traits of an empath…

Highly Sensitive

Highly Intuitive

Selfless

Connects with others quickly, often too quickly

Willingness to accept full responsibility

Desire to better the world

Inquisitive

Ability & tendency to absorb others feelings and emotions

Dislike of selfish, dull, and mean people

Compassionate

Dislike of drama and violence

A strong connection to animals

Digestive problems

Difficulty saying “no”

Supports the underdog

Easily manipulated

Has a hard time not caring

People tend to tell you their problems

Do these sound like you? As I am looking into empathy and empaths, all sorts of bells and whistles are going off! “Amanda! Hello? Amanda! This IS you!”! Also, I am reading (over & over) that if an individual {me} believes they might be an empath, chances are they are, in fact, an empath.

Alright, so this is new information for me. Well, kind of. Again, I have been called “sensitive” and “emotional” my whole life, THAT is not what is surprising to me. Learning that there is a group of people titled, called, or labled as an “empath” who tend to be naturally caring, show concern for others, and have a hard time saying “no” even when they know they should, the idea that I fit into a TYPE of people is encouraging. Reading that others have similar problems overcommitting themselves to the point of draining themselves emotionally. I feel as if I love without limits, even after experiencing disappointment (after disappointment after disappointment). Learning that others might have similar feelings or emotions, well, I feel encouraged.

I have been telling people (usually employers or therapists) that I believe my sensitivity to other people’s feelings and emotions is both my biggest strength & my biggest weakness.

For me, the voice I hear in my head is mean and waits for each opportunity to judge and criticize me. Empaths, being sensitive, are vulnerable to these self-critical thoughts. I think things like, “Why do you feel so much all the time? What’s wrong with you? You are so strange.” or “You’re just too sensitive. Nobody likes you.” However, it is important not to believe these self-attacks. Putting a word or a title towards my personality, well, it helps me.

Empaths are highly sensitive individuals, who have a keen ability to sense what people around them are thinking and feeling. Psychologists may use the term empath to describe a person that experiences a great deal of empathy, often to the point of taking on the pain of others at their own expense.

--https://www.psychalive.org/empaths/#:~:text=Empaths%20are%20highly%20sensitive%20individuals,others%20at%20their%20own%20expense.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Amanda Jones

I’ve never been accused of having nothing to say, only that I speak too much.

My husband is my world, the girls bring me happiness & energy. Our family defines unconditional love & joy. We make it through what is meant to break us. 💕🐾💕🐾

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.