Psyche logo

Wander in the mind

She was always trapped

By Makenna BoltonPublished about a year ago 6 min read
1
Wander in the mind
Photo by Call Me Fred on Unsplash

Today I woke up rather early, 6am to be specific. I usually wake up around 9am, not too early, but just the right amount of time to start my morning before I feel it’s time for afternoon activities. But today I woke up at dusk, I didn’t want to move, I lied there awake and aware, hearing the sounds of my maids and servants at work outside my room. I had no job, I was an heiress, daughter of a wealthy businessman; my father was always traveling, and my mother was dead, so I was mainly on my own. I entertained myself in my home everyday, good thing it’s big too, or I’d be extremely bored. Especially since I never go outside, Im not allowed, but I’ve never known why. Perhaps it’s dangerous, maybe there are aliens, or it could be a plague. I don’t mind though, I have plenty to keep me occupied, anyways, today I was just lying on my bed, after an hour of being lost in my thoughts, I got up and went to the doors I went wandering around my house, grabbed a snack, and I heard the doorbell. I became so excited thinking it was my father, I ran to the door avoiding the maids so I could be unbothered; I pulled the door open, but stopped in my tracks when I saw nothing. Not one person stood there, I sunk my head in disappointment, and in my vision appeared a box: a small, beautiful, white box with rose gold flowers popping out of the sides. As weird as it was to find a random box at the foot of my door, I was curious and intrigued, so I took it. I snuck back to my room filled with excitement, admiring the box as I opened my door. Normally, one would ask the basic, “Who, what, where, why and how?” Yet, all I wanted to do was open it. I didn’t care where it came from, I wasn’t nervous about what lurks inside; I took a breath, and flung open the top. In the center was a tiny beautiful ballerina, and she began to sing, “Upon my toes, why I am here, I never shall know. I sing my song and dance my dance, admire me, you’ll be in my trance. I come from a land of sugars and sweets, one day I was cursed and put asleep. You have three days to set me free or you’ll be trapped here just as me.” Holy shit. What?! This cursed ballerina in a music box was trapped, and if I didn’t save her, I’d be trapped too? This is crazy, I mean, I’ve always believed in magic, but to have something this spooky happen to me is absolutely wild. I wasn’t going to waste any time, I went straight to work on figuring this mystery out. Okay, she comes from a land of sugar and sweets, my very childlike mind immediately thought of the game Candyland, but how could that be? A character from Candyland, or maybe it was talking about The Nutcracker; a sugar plum fairy?! After all it was a ballerina in that music box. At this point I believed anything could be real, I swallowed down my doubts, and stuck with my Nutcracker theory. I spent the rest of the day reminiscing on the numerous occasions I saw The Nutcracker, both on film, and live productions. All of a sudden I was dancing in the snow, surrounded by glistening white snowflakes, crystals, and sweet, giant candy. I was alone, moving through this world, happiness melting through my body, when, a dark fog rolled in. The wind howled and screeched, the sky cast a frightening dark painting, there was a glow in the distance; a bright green glow, creeping it’s way closer… then, BOOM! I jerked awake, falling onto the floor, I looked around, I was still in my drafty, boring bedroom. It was only a dream, but it was also a clue, and a good thing too because I only had until tomorrow before midnight to set the ballerina free. I began thinking about my dream: I was dancing, first of all, I don’t dance, so perhaps I was the ballerina, and the dream was her point of view. She was dancing in a snowy white world, so she must be the snowflake princess; she danced so elegantly, and was so dainty. Then I remembered the dog, how spine tingling and discomforting it felt. It came so eerie and it crept quietly, then *GASP* the green light! That was the last thing I saw before violently waking up from my dream, if I can figure out what the green light is, I can figure out what took her. The only problem is, this wasn’t at all like the play or the movie, so I couldn’t really use them for help, this was something entirely new. I sat in the middle of my room for what felt like 30 seconds, was really 3 hours. My mind was blank, and I was more confused than when I first received the box. Why me? Why was I sent this? Is there some special heroic meaning, or was I simply meant to fail, and live with an unlucky fate until I wound up on someone else doorstep; only to have the disturbing cycle repeat? It was getting late and I was hungry, I hadn’t eaten all day, I went down to the kitchen, where the chefs had already prepared my meal. I love and appreciate the chefs who work here, but they try to make my food way too sugary and weird sometimes. The other week I spotted mini MnM’s in my applesauce, and today I saw them again in my sandwich. They are funny, but that’s just plain gross. I ate my dinner, and before I knew it, I was back sleeping, drifting off into a deep, *yawn* sleep.. BOOM! A flash of green shot at me, jolting me awake. There was no dream, no lead up, just the green light, and it was already 12 in the afternoon! Oh no, I only had 12 more hours before I suffer the same fate as the ballerina, I hadn’t come at all close to figuring out what the green light was. Perhaps if I get something to eat, and then examine the box more closely I can get my answer. So I went down again to the kitchen, the chefs were all huddled together whispering about something, but my food was ready. I didn’t have time to chat, and I wanted to avoid commotion, so I snatched my plate, and dashed back to my room, picking out and throwing the mini MnM’s as I came across them. I got back to my room, shut the door, and began eating as I grabbed the music box. But, something was different, the once glistening, beautiful box was slowly becoming a dark, sharp box, looking as if it could harm one if they touched it. I carefully opened the top, and what I saw sent my heart dropping into my stomach. The ballerina was gone, no sight of her, no hint of her whereabouts; just the phantom of her presence in the empty cold box. My heart began racing, I kept thinking, “I’m next, I’m next!” I would be the tiny person in the box, I was sweating, panicking, I was so afraid. I could feel my stomach churn as a dreery fog began to roll in from the crack underneath my door, along with a noisy commotion coming from outside my room. This was the end, I’m done for, I screamed at the top of my lungs; the most horrific screech, which soon transformed into a hysterical laughter, causing me to pace about my room. When like a bolt of lightning, my door burst open, and I began to fall, slowly, as my eyelids began closing, like dark, horizontal curtains. Before I fell, I heard a voice coming toward me, talking to another, “I told you, I was right. Where are her antipsychotic drugs?” “She knows we put them in her food.”

schizophrenia
1

About the Creator

Makenna Bolton

Hi! My name is Makenna Bolton, I am 20 years old. I grew up in Wisconsin and in June I graduated from the American Musical and Dramatic Academy in LA; with an Associates in Dance and Theatre. As well as writing, I love acting, and dancing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.