Psyche logo

Understanding Depression

Signs that you are depressed.

By Tina CollinsPublished 7 years ago 7 min read
Like
Worried Girl

Here are the signs that you are depressed.

  1. You have no interest in most things that people enjoy.
  2. You have little energy for activities, work or hobbies.
  3. You have no or little interest in sex.
  4. You feel lethargic.
  5. You find it hard to fall asleep or you sleep too much.
  6. You have no appetite or you eat too much.
  7. You cry a lot.
  8. You feel numb and have no feelings for those you care about.
  9. You find it hard to concentrate.
  10. You have little or no confidence in yourself.
  11. You feel alone and feel that nobody understands how you feel.

Talk About Your Feelings

This may turn out to be one of hardest things you will have to do with regards to your Depression.

However, it does work! But, it's important that you trust the person that you are talking to about your feelings etc. It won't help you in the long run if you don't feel secure.

I've had many positive and negative experiences regarding official therapy or just talking to family. Try not to let the negative experiences get you down. I know, though, that is easier said than done.

Keep Active

Don't you just hate exercise!?

Exercise is proven to help boost your endorphins and your serotonin levels, thereby combating the effects of depression.

Does it work?

For me, it has a very small effect on my moods. Maybe I'm just not doing it enough but I do try and walk every day. If I don't, I do feel pretty grotty (lethargic).

Here are some exercises you can do to help beat SAD and depression:

1. Yoga focuses on deep breathing, increasing blood flow, and vitality and it strengthens all of your body's major muscles.

The Forward Bend

Stand up, reaching as high as you can over your head. Inhale. As you Exhale, bend forward and reach down with your arms. Stay in this position for 3 breaths. Return to the standing position by slowly uncurling your body one vertebrae at a time. Repeat for a further 5 times.

2. T'ai chi helps the body to retain energy. The slow moving exercises help build up stamina and circulate oxygen. It also helps to improve balance and posture, toning your legs and bum.

The Golden Rooster Stands on One Leg

Bend your right leg and lift to waist height. Whilst doing so, bend your arms so that your palms are facing upwards. Hold for five seconds and lower. Repeat with the other leg.

3. Kick boxing helps you to focus. It will improve your attention span, sculpts your arms, legs, and bum and burns off 650 calories an hour.

From a 'ready' position: left leg slightly in front of right, Do a left jab, right jab, left hook, right hook, front kick with right leg. Repeat this 5 times. Switch sides and do the kick with the left leg instead.

Eat Healthily

Did you know my attitude to food has changed?

It's changed in such a way that it now has a negative impact on my weight and my depression.

I used to eat to live now I'm bordering on living to eat.

If I'm not careful, I use food as a source of comfort and to stop me from becoming bored. There's the danger signs right there. Food should never be used as a crutch. It should only be used as a fuel.

If you find yourself turning to food when you're bored, lonely, upset, angry, depressed etc., try and distract yourself and do something positive instead.

  1. Go for a walk
  2. Pamper yourself
  3. Give yourself a manicure/pedicure
  4. Do some arts and crafts.
  5. Write down how you feel.

Eating too much will lead to weight gain which in turn will affect your moods and how you see yourself. Try not to fall down this slippery slope.

Only eat when you are hungry and eat as healthily as you can. This doesn't mean that you can't eat sweets, cakes etc; just don't pig out on them! Eat everything in moderation.

Two Types of Wine

Don't Drink Too Much Alcohol

I do love a drink, you know. But, I am aware that alcohol is a depressant and as such will make depression worse.

If you're depressed, you'll most likely want to block out some of those nasty, negative feelings and drink, you may think, is one such way. However, I do advise you to steer clear as much as you can.

The danger times for alcohol are if you're living alone or happen to be away from friends or family for whatever reason.

If you feel the urge to reach for a glass of wine or two and you know you are depressed, please do ring a friend and talk. Distract yourself.

Don't Be Afraid to Ask for Help

This can be another difficult thing to do: admitting you need help and then asking for it.

If you really honestly cannot go to family or even a friend, then please do check in with your GP and ask for help.

Tell him/her everything about how you feel.

He/She will be able to advise you as to where to go for additional help and support and may even suggest some anti-depressants.

Don't feel that you have to take the medication. On the other hand, try not to feel that they're a sign of weakness.

Anti-depressants should only be taken for a short period of time unless you have a chemical imbalance (like me) or have a long-term condition like bipolar disorder, in which case you may need to take them for life.

A lot of people aren't keen on taking them but I have to admit that I couldn't function without them! I hasten to add here, too, that I'm not addicted, either. The one type of depression (I have two types) that I'm being medicated for, unfortunately, will not improve. It will not get better. So, I need the medication to stabilize this imbalance in my brain.

If you don't want to take drugs then there is a natural alternative to them. St John's Wort is very good for treating mild depression. However, it does interfere with some drugs including the contraceptive pill.

I did take it for a short period of time and it worked very well for me.

Everyone needs a break or a holiday; I know I do :)

But, I'm not just talking about going away for a few days.

Depression can strike when we're stressed or over-worked and sometimes you just need to take a break from whatever you're doing.

Give yourself some 'me' time.

Don't answer the door. Take the phone off the hook. Switch the computer off. Lie back on your bed, close your eyes and just relax for however long you feel you need to.

Accept Who You Are

I have to admit to finding this one very hard to do.

Years of people telling me that I was worthless and was something not to be valued has led me to have a very low self-esteem and virtually no self-confidence.

So, in effect, I don't accept who I am.

Of course, deep down, I believe I know differently but, unfortunately, my convictions are not strong enough to make that much of my difference to my well-being.

Everyone is different and everyone matters. I know it's hard but do try not to listen to other people's opinions of you. They don't know you as well as you know yourself.

Be strong.

Take Care of Other People

Thinking of other people besides yourself can help to offset that negative view you have of yourself and the world.

My life has been spent thinking of only other people and never myself but sometimes that has been at a detriment to myself. Try to find a good balance.

However, looking after other people can help feel good about yourself. It can give you a sense of importance and value and the appreciation of others for the work that you do is second to none.

Alternative Methods

Stress Buster

Everyday stresses can lead to depression and a feeling of worthlessness.

Common stress triggers are:

  1. Starting a new job
  2. Moving home
  3. Money problems
  4. Bereavement

Here's something you can do to try and ease the stress on you.

Tell yourself that the job you have to do is easy. Never say to yourself that it is difficult. This can lead to more stress. Repeat positive phrases to yourself like, "I can do that," "That should be easy," and "That doesn't sound difficult." Repeat those phrases over and over in your mind or out loud.

Even if you find out something is hard, just give it your best and keep telling yourself you can do it. Repeat each day!

depressionselfcare
Like

About the Creator

Tina Collins

Author, Photographer, Book Reviewer and Ambassador for Equine Assisted Therapy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.