Psyche logo

The Voices Won the War

..

By LTPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

The Voices Won the War

They started as a whisper,

Gently caressing my ear,

Soft, calming, and sweet,

Not something you would fear.

Speaking whilst I slept,

Planting their intentions,

Blissfully unaware,

Of ever growing suggestions.

It only takes weeks,

Until I start to believe,

Every damaging word,

Changing the way I perceive.

Soon the volume rises,

I hear them every hour,

Slowly getting stronger,

As they impose their power.

Demanding the unspoken,

I fight to disobey,

They anger erupts abruptly,

And it’s me that they slay.

Seconds, minutes, hours pass,

Pouring blood from my skin,

Pain becomes a sedative,

Satisfaction burns within.

Louder, louder, louder,

Nothing blocks it out,

Tears roll down my cheek,

As they continuously shout.

Now I can’t hear much,

Just the constant screams,

I know there’s no escape,

They’re infesting my dreams.

Accepting what they say,

Doing as I’m told,

No one can stop me,

I know I won’t grow old.

They help me find the pills,

They help me take the blade,

“No one will care”

I hear as I evade.

I see my body below,

Silence sounds so knew,

The voices won the war,

There was nothing I could do.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

LT

I just write what I feel. Sometimes it’s short. Sometimes it’s long. Sometimes it rhymes. Occasionally I write stories. But mostly poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.