Psyche logo

The Highly Sensitive Person

Coping Strategies

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

I have read the Elaine Aron books, I've managed to buy other books such as The Highly Sensitive Person Survival Guide by Ted Zeff. I am reading about how to give myself more buffers. These days, I have plenty more compared to what I had in my after college years. By 2010, I had quit drinking and realized that my sensitivity could be managed differently. As a sensitive person, I'm realizing just how fragile my hernia is making me. I'm trying to sleep well at night, but I was low at 9, high at 1:00 a.m., and then high in the morning. The books I have offer many tips on how to deal with sensitivity.

Sensitive people cannot escape their sensitivity. Drinking wasn't helping mine. The first time I took a quiz in the Cyndi Dale book I use, called the Intuition Guidebook, I lied on that quiz. I still scored highly psychic. Then I practically told the truth, and I scored all 335 points, in the highly psychic category!!! But anyway, I'm just trying to muddle through my life, get enough sleep, and I'm contemplating getting my sleeping habits to behave with a weighted blanket so I can sleep better. I hear about this from my friends on the autism spectrum of which I'm not at all a member of.

My narcissistic family doesn't help me very much, since I'm a very sensitive person. I'm way sensitive. I need to avoid harsh people right now. I can't be around people who are nice one minute, and mean the next. I can't be made to feel helpless or bad, since my hernia is heating up big time. I'm trying to feel better about myself by working on my self-esteem. I'm pretty much done with manipulative people who make me second-guess myself.

An HSP can only handle so much stress, which is why work from home jobs are my destiny because that makes sense. I have to work on my fear of crowds this year. HSPs value kindness but being around a person who is Machiavellian, is stressful. I cannot be mean to people, since I believe in being nice. I'm trying to keep myself out of hot water here. This is because I'm doing my best to find jobs, make money, and make sure I have enough money. I'm not necessarily the sort of mentally ill person who messes up their finances although this month that happened because I paid the blog fee.

Vocal.Media is giving me $35 that will help me stay out of the hole. I am not so much in the hole, mind you, but seriously, I need to keep a lid on my spending this month. I do very well managing my money, or at least I try to. As a highly sensitive person with bipolar 1, I find myself stressed when I talk to people. It's why I err on the quiet/shy routine. My life is saturated in psychic phenomena, daily, monthly, weekly, and almost hourly. The stress can get to me often enough. Every psychic thing I have is intense. It turns on when I get frustrated.

What is frustrating about my sensitivity is that I get wound up around people who drink so in my adult life, that's free from abuse for now, I avoid people like the plague. I avoid people who drink a lot. Many people know that booze is something you are careful with. Not everybody knows how to drink properly although what scares me is that I was good at drinking. I'm not in danger of drinking again, but I have pissed my family off by not drinking, by quitting, by getting sober. Drinking is a bad habit, and part of the game was being supportive when I was drinking, while afterward, withdrawing support when I quit.

Right now, I'm frustrated as all hell at not having more income than I have. Everything comes in on the 28th. I know that I have to make money here, but I'm not necessarily too wound up about it. I'm going to try my best to make extra income this month. The doors are wide open for me to start my own business. If a job in the offline world doesn't come, I'm going to work from home, and start my own business. https://hsperson.com/

coping
2

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.