Psyche logo

The Edinburgh Fringe Festival Is Mental!

"Last year I was diagnosed as 'depressed', but I was not wanting to admit it to myself. I fought it by pushing myself to do three performances in one day, alongside rehearsals for two different music groups, without a break and only stopping to rest when I was sleeping."

By Laura .Published 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

Calling every single 'artsy' person from around the globe! Yep, it's that time of year again—the Edinburgh Fringe Festival: "defying the norm since 1947."

I experienced the festival for the first time in my life only last year, in August 2017. I was heading up to do a show for ten days with a university group, and I had absolutely no idea what to expect. Now, this would have perhaps been daunting enough for a generally healthy person, however, I was not your average 'generally healthy person'. I was a person undergoing counselling, having eating issues, and trying to function like a normal individual despite the fact that hidden away in my accommodation bathroom were helpline numbers, leaflets on depression, medical documents and all my medication ready for me should I face any kind of distress or trouble whilst I was away from home. Whilst the fringe for me is an exciting time, and I have many fond memories of my last visit, the fringe also reminds me of the time in which I encountered one of the first of many crisis moments with my mental health, and it was also the first time I ever shared (in detail) the problems that I was facing with one of my close friends.

Looking back on the events of the trip, whilst my episode couldn't necessarily be helped completely, it has given me many things to think about for my trip this year, and I have realised how easy it is to burn out so rapidly if you don't take proper care of yourself. This applies to those who are mentally healthy as well as those who perhaps face struggles.

Last year I was diagnosed as 'depressed', but I was not wanting to admit it to myself. I fought it by pushing myself to do three performances in one day, alongside rehearsals for two different music groups, without a break and only stopping to rest when I was sleeping. Sounds mad right? That's probably because it was, and looking back, it is no wonder I had a complete and utter breakdown one night after hitting a few of the bars in town. To be fair to myself, I was in a much worse place last summer than I am this summer, and whilst that is an amazing achievement, it still doesn't mean that I shouldn't take care of myself this year whilst at the Fringe, and the same goes for anyone else who is planning on attending this annual arts whirlwind.

Our time at the Fringe is often a complete mishmash of performing, watching shows, drinking, eating, sleeping, and repeating. Whilst that's great and fun—it's also vitally important that we take the time we need to look after ourselves and give our bodies and minds a break when they need it. I've found lots of articles online that I want to add to this piece when I've finished, but for now, here are my own tips and thoughts on taking care of oneself whilst at the epicentre of the Edinburgh Fringe Festival.

Number One: Listen to your body.

There will be times when we are tempted to overexert ourselves—we want to see ten shows in one day alongside performing in our own and then we want to top it all off with an evening bar crawl. Whilst that all sounds fun, it's just not possible and when your body starts to give you warning signs that it's had enough—listen to it. Set aside some time in the afternoon to either have a nap, listen to some music, or just have a good old cup of tea by yourself in a space that's accessible to you. Try to take at least an hour to just switch off from the festivities around you and let your body and mind recuperate!

Number Two: It's not a university freshers fest!!!!

Yes, it's great fun to hit the pubs and bars after a long day at the Fringe, but don't feel pressured to do so! The Fringe is not freshers week, and whilst some people may be tempted to go out every single night after their performances or after seeing other people's shows, you don't have any obligation to follow. For me personally, my mental health is likely to take a turn for the worst if I have too much alcohol. That's not to say us medicated folks can't have a bit to drink, but excessive amounts don't usually do me any favours. So, if perhaps you haven't been feeling yourself at Fringe, or if things are getting to you—you don't necessarily need to let it all out by going out on the lash every single evening!

Number Three: There are always people to help you.

Should you feel that things are getting a bit much for you during your trip, remember that there will always be people who can help you out. Last year was the first time I opened up about my own issues to a friend, but my experience would probably have been a lot easier if I had just been honest and open to everyone about my health situation at the time. When there are people I trust, I usually try to make them aware of my own situation should things go wrong, or if I have a bit of a blip regarding my mental health. There will always be people around you to help you out, and there are always helplines to call should you feel in crisis during the Fringe stay. This is a crucial thing to remember, because dealing with problems alone, especially if it is in a foreign environment, can sometimes make things even more tricky than they may already be. However, whilst I talk a lot about help relating to situations that surround mental illness, the same premise should still be applied if we are mentally healthy. Sometimes we may just feel a bit low, or tired or maybe we are just overwhelmed! However, we should still always feel that we can speak to someone close to us whom we trust to help us out, and there is no shame in doing so—we all need a break sometimes!

An additional note: This year whilst at the Fringe, I am also going to try and see some mental health related shows, and I am currently thinking about keeping a blog throughout my time in Edinburgh with content that discusses these kinds of shows. Below are some links to shows discussing topics surrounding mental health alongside a link to tips on self-care whilst at the Fringe.

coping
Like

About the Creator

Laura .

Talker of all things Mental Health!

Sharing my experiences, stories, and tips xoxo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.