Psyche logo

Stop Romanticizing Mental Health and Start Helping People with Real Mental Illnesses

When did it become popular to want to have a mental illness? I, for one, never once signed up for this.

By rachel westPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Everyday that I get on Facebook, I see a new post from some person saying something like, “Oh, I’m so ADHD because I’m so random, or “I’m so bipolar because of such and such”. There are other posts about things related to other mental illnesses, but these two seem to be the most common. When did it become popular to want to have a mental illness? I, for one, never once signed up for this.

I do recognize that a lot of people in the United States and the rest of the world suffer from a form of mental illness. I am talking about the people who are so desperate to fit in that they will fake a mental illness. Maybe they do have something wrong with them to even want this kind of attention to begin with. Most of us with an actual mental illness only talk about it if asked about it or to bring awareness. We do not want to bring unnecessary attention to ourselves, as it can make our illnesses act up. Maybe psychologists should investigate the brain chemistry of these “attention seekers”, because I am willing to bet something in their brain would be off.

Let’s talk about having bipolar disorder. In the United States, over three million adults have bipolar disorder. I have bipolar type two. I have the hardest time making myself get out of bed somedays, as my depression is just so bad that it tells me I am worthless. I have attempted suicide three times. I go through phases of mania, where I do things that I would never do with a clear mind. It had cause me to be arrested (multiple times, stories for another day). I also suffer from anxiety, so suffer, to the point I hyperventilate and will stop breathing. The smallest thing will cause me to go into a anxiety attack. Normally, the not knowing is a major stressor for me. I also have more mental illnesses, that I pray to God that my child does not end up with.

Because of mental illness, people die everyday from taking their own life. They feel that is their only option. Four percent of adults in the United States have experienced suicidal thoughts. An even more staggering fact is that, ninety percent of those who have committed suicide have died from underlying mental illnesses.

I take 4 medicines everyday to help me live a normal life. 2 mood stabilizers, and 2 anti-depressants. Why would you want to joke about that? Why does it seem cute to be going through something so serious?

Let’s now discuss the opposite. Let’s talk about the people who have mental issues, who do not seek treatment. You have nothing to be ashamed of for asking for help. Asking for help does not make you weak. It makes you strong. Statistics has shown that over fifty percent of United States adults with mental illness have not received treatment. These people are either afraid of judgement or cannot afford to receive the treatment they so desperately need.

Another reason people do not seek the treatment they need is their pride. No one likes to admit they need help, but it can save your life. I know that I hated admitting I needed help, but boy did going to get help save my life completely. Misinformation can also be a major factor. I have heard people be told that they will not be able to feel anymore on medication. That is simply not at all the case. You will still be able to feel, but you will be able to handle your emotions better.

I just hope that this story will help people understand the need to stop romanticizing mental illness, and instead actual start helping the people who have them. Also, let’s teach people to not be ashamed to ask for help if they are struggling with a mental disorder.

advice
Like

About the Creator

rachel west

25 years old. Full-time wife/mom. Full-time employee. Full-time student. Yes, I consider that working 3 jobs. Yes, I stay busy. over 3 years clean and sober. Mental health advocate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.