Psyche logo

Stand Up To Stigma

Mental Health Awareness

By Chantelle CPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

One of my passions is mental health. I’ve worked in the mental health sector for almost twelve years. The knowledge I have earned has been incredible with regard to my awareness an involvement in changing lives. Witnessing individuals managing with their troubles due to you is a rewarding occurrence. Nonetheless, there has been negative factors that I have recognised in jobs, friendship groups, families, society and culture. I pray for a shift as a person mentally ill only seeks support and a listening ear.

First, I would wish to say if you encounter a loved one going through signs and symptoms of mental health, make it your priority to not be judgemental. A lot of people don’t understand how to recognise these, so I’ll list them below.

Five warning signs of mental illness could be:

• Social isolation

• Exceedingly elevated or low moods

• Fluctuations in their eating or sleep pattern

• Despair that last for a long time

• Excessive fear and anxiety

Mental health disorders that you may experience or hear about are:

• Anxiety disorders

• Personality disorders

• Psychotic disorders (such as schizophrenia)

• Eating disorders

• Trauma related disorders (PTSD)

• Substance abuse disorders

Mental health doesn’t target a certain race, people also don’t pretend to be mentally unwell and men do get affected. I say this because I hear this within my culture, we don’t get mental health problems maybe it’s some form of witchcraft. A black person having mental health issues never! Don’t bother you’ll get over it, you’re not depressed, you’re just being sensitive. What do you mean you haven’t eaten for days or weeks! How can a man be mentally ill they’re supposed to be tough? Individuals get put into a bubble by others and the impact has consequences.

Others around us may not recognise the indications and sadly contribute to the terrible stigma encircling mental health. Having a viewpoint on someone’s mental well-being, sadly means that the individual may feel belittled and may not seek help. Suffering alone puts the individual at risk.

I personally don’t think people recognise the harshness of mental illness until it becomes drastic. Family members or friends will often be in denial of what their loved one is enduring. People never want somebody they know to be challenged by this. I’ve experienced children and adults arriving into care and us staff members get accused of making their child worse. I will be honest there have been circumstances where due to the regulations of hospitals or care homes individuals may not get the 1-1 assistance they need constantly. All staff members managed the best they could. Unfortunately, the system doesn’t provide the facilities or money to allow you to give your undivided time to one individual. I do understand that its heavy on loved ones.

Working in a mental health hospital opened my eyes to a lot of predicaments. I found it impossible; to see young children battling through it was heart-breaking. I made it my priority to be that happy energy in the room. It’s nice to value them as an individual and not they’re disorder. You’ll always find that you can relate to them, at the end of the day they are human.

Adults with mental health problems often shut themselves off because society has painted them out to be harmful. I know there are overpowering mental health issues that do cause individuals to be aggressive but it’s not their fault. I’ve had chairs hurled at me, I’ve been spat at, strangled and locked in rooms but I’ve never judged that person for their challenges. Sadly, that’s just the behaviour and its consequences which was controlled by their illness.

Men fighting with mental health have to face social expectations and traditional gender roles. This shouldn’t be the case. Men are understood to be breadwinners of the family and the strong one. Men have the difficulty of being perceived how society wants them to. This sadly contributes to fear of pursuing help. Men not talking to someone has resulted in suffering in silence sadly leading to suicide. In 2018 there was 6,507 suicides recorded, three quarters of deaths were men. I wonder how we can prevent this.

I will make sure that I constantly help individuals struggling mentally. There will be situations where it could be out of my power and professionals are required. However, guiding, supporting and caring for that person despite they’re mental state matters.

Struggling with mental health is hard but its ok to talk up. If you know someone battling with this continue to motivate them and be that ray of sunshine in their life. Your support could protect their life or transform a life.

depression
1

About the Creator

Chantelle C

Let me make my words blow your mind. Let's go on a journey together from reality to pure filth. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.