Psyche logo

Social Anxiety

Different ways to help with your social anxiety

By Shalini GoundenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Social Anxiety
Photo by Vladimir Fedotov on Unsplash

I have social anxiety and had to deal with it at the age of 5. My parents haven't noticed that I would have it. Until they took me to the doctors. My family doctor had told them that I have social anxiety. They tried different things to help me but it didn't help. I had to deal with my anxiety for 15 years. And I didn't let it stop me from taking over my life. I'm working on it every day.

Don't let anyone get to you about your social anxiety because I let my bullies make fun of me about it and make me feel like nothing in elementary. I still didn't let go of the fact that they made me feel like an outsider. But when I confront them they were dealing with their own problems. I wasn't mad at them at all about it. I asked them if they wanted to be friends and since then we're friends till this day and we communicate really well.

Going to family functions wasn't the fondest to go to because of it. Once I went; my anxiety didn't take too long to start up. When a big family function comes up, so I wouldn't go. My cousin realized that I was becoming fidgety, he took me out for a walk where it was quiet outside and I have a moment to calm down. But I told my dad that I will meet him at home because I couldn't breathe. So he told me it was okay and he'll stay there for a while.

You'll always have someone by your side. Never think you are all alone because you aren't. There are a lot of people out there going through this. This is who you are and never change it; be proud of yourself. It took me a really long time to find the confidence that I have today. My friends were the ones to courage me to be who I'm today. Thanks to them I'm not that quiet girl with no friends to a quiet girl with friends. I'm really grateful to have them in my life. Surround yourself with supportive people. They will be there by your side and help you with those baby steps. Never think you are an outsider because you are not an outsider. You are just really special.

Here are some ways that I was able to calm myself down.

Having some of your family or friends there is the greatest support to have when you are having your anxiety.

Here are a few tips to help you with your social anxiety:

1. Control your breathing: breath in slowly through your noses for 4 seconds.

2. Try exercise or progressive muscle relaxation: some activities like jogging can help lower your anxiety.

3. Prepare: always plan ahead for social situations.

4. Start small: Don't jump into big social situations.

5. Take the focus off yourself: try shifting your attention to what's around you.

6. Talkback to negative thoughts: these thoughts might be about people or situations.

7. Use your senses: sight, sound, smell, touch, and taste. Your senses can help to calm you down.

You are a very unique person out there. And don't change that about you. Your anxiety shouldn't make you any different. Be who you are as a person. That is what makes you stand out as an individual. You should be proud of who you are. Don't make anyone else happy but yourself. Don't change for someone else. You are you and don't change that. Keep your head up, high kings and queens.

anxiety
1

About the Creator

Shalini Gounden

My name is Shalini. I'm writing romance/fantasy content on my page and I might think you'll like to read this romance/fantasy stories that are on my page. I hope you enjoy reading these stories that are written!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.