Psyche logo

Postpartum Paranoia

You’re not alone.

By Braven MarksPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Have you ever had thoughts so terrible that you wouldn’t dream of telling anyone? Thoughts that scared you? Thoughts you would NEVER have thought yourself to be capable of? With content so unspeakable that you thought you were going insane?

If you have you are not alone, not only those with mental illness or obsessive compulsive disorders have these types of thoughts but around 94% of the population have, had, and or will have intrusive thoughts at some point in their lives.

Intrusive thoughts range from mildly annoying to catastrophic, they can be about just about anything (although many people report thoughts of violence, self harm, or harming someone else) and can happen in short-term stress related situations or over longer periods of time. Most peoples biggest fear regarding them is that the thoughts are true or that they will act on them or that they are going insane.

My personal experience with intrusive thoughts began as a young child with thoughts such as: “No one likes you.” , “There’s something in your closet.” , “You’re parents/family/brothers hate you.” They came in waves of crushing waves of paranoia or just as sprinkles on my day to day activities. As a child I was not aware of what they were or that they weren’t true and I spent a very long time believing everything I thought to be the truth.

Throughout my adolescence and young adult hood I struggled with what my doctors and parents believed to be run of the mill anxiety(social) and depressive symptoms and to be fair I had never told anyone about these thoughts at that point in my life for fear that I would be committed to an institution or that it would come out that I had, in fact, completely lost my mind. As I became more informed about mental health related issues throughout my treatment for depression and social anxiety and through my own internet research, I became increasingly more aware of my intrusive thoughts and I sought to banish them. This of course did not work. The harder you attempt to avoid or push back against intrusive thoughts the more intense and frequent they can become.

At this point I still had not told anyone including my therapists, doctors or parents about these thoughts and I felt truly alone with them. It wasn’t until after I had my first child that I came to understand the exact nature of intrusive/paranoid thinking and understood that I was not alone.

I was hit particularly hard with postpartum depression and I was having severe intrusive thoughts and a huge amount of anxiety surrounding them along with panic attacks. I was having thoughts that something terrible was going to happen to my daughter, that I would fall down the stairs with her in my arms and crush her, or that if I left her alone with someone that they were going to hurt her. I sought treatment for this because it was affecting every aspect of my life, I wouldn’t let her out of my sight, I would rush like a mad woman every time I needed a shower because I felt like if I wasn’t there she was going to get hurt.

So finally I told a close family member about these thoughts and was shocked to learn that I was not alone in this and that many women with postpartum in particular had these horrific things coming to mind. With treatment and a new awareness of what was actually happening to me I was able to slowly overcome the anxiety and panic attacks that were attached to these intrusive thoughts.

Although, I don’t know if they will ever completely go away and I continue to have waves of them periodically, especially in times of high stress or change, I do know that I am not alone, I’m not crazy, and there is hope for me after all.

support
2

About the Creator

Braven Marks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    You definitely aren’t alone. I hope you are doing well, i know you wrote this awhile ago now.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.