Psyche logo

Pandemic Induced Anxiety

As well as grocery & gas induced anxiety.

By Ashlie CrossPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Pandemic Induced Anxiety
Photo by Andrey Metelev on Unsplash

Since the pandemic, it seems people are filled with more anxiety in the world. There are many different kinds of “anxiety.” People usually get diagnosed with GAD (generalized anxiety disorder).

Nothing since the pandemic has helped people from the relief of this added stress and anxiety. Therefore, I feel we can only truly depend on ourselves, to get any sort of help we may need.

Food prices are skyrocketing, gas prices are out the window, and rent prices are increasing. I was never one who had anxiety so bad that it threw me into a panic attack. I have had 4 panic attacks since 2020 (Never had one in my life before this)

I couldn’t breathe. I couldn’t stop crying. I felt like everything was WAY too much. I felt terrible because I had 3 kids and didn’t know how I was supposed to keep them safe. I didn’t know how I was supposed to keep them from the worries of the world. I was on sensory overload. Kids were now doing their education from home. I was also moved to work from home… Everything truly was WAY too much.

Today, I still have crazy anxiety. It’s to the point where doctor appointments are weird to me and I usually avoid them as much as possible. Grocery shopping is a disaster (thank God for online pickup). I’d rather not deal with anyone in public. And in all honesty, when I do deal with most people in public, they’re assholes! I try not to take offense to it, I’m wondering if that is THEIR anxiety.

We are all learning to live in this new world that is being created. And it scares the hell out of me. I was always ashamed to ask for help or seek help, but finally 1 month ago, I couldn’t take it anymore and I reached out to a therapist…an online one of course. Which I am proud to say that I have moved to doing appointments in her office.

It’s not that I’m scared of Covid. I believe I just got so used to not going anywhere for a year, that when time came to start doing so, I froze. I think many people can probably relate in one way or another to what I’m describing.

But if you need any kind of mental health, don’t feel weak or unsure. You know you…and if you feel off, then get help. I look forward to my appointments with my therapist, even on the worst of days. It truly does help and makes me feel not so alone. ( I waited a whole year of feeling like shit to gain up the confidence to do so, plus I’m a big pill Nazi, and I believe marijuana is a miracle medication -almost like a cure for all-that needs to be legalized EVERYWHERE)- but that is besides the point and could be yet another topic someday I decide I want to write about.

As far as the food prices and gas prices going up. The most we can do is our best. I don’t have a remedy for that. I don’t have any advice for this either. This is something new we are all having to learn and deal with…and also live with. In my household I have really watched what I am buying, my kids don’t get snacks like they used to, and nobody can eat when they feel like it, because there is nothing to munch on! Meals only! I’m trying to see the bright side of this though, that at least they will grow up somewhat healthy without these sugary snacks looking so tempting in the kitchen. But the sad reality is, even meals are getting to be too much to afford. Gas is getting to be too much to even drive back and forth to and from work (20 minutes one way). What are we gonna do? The future seems daunting.

I see the world a lot more different after 2020. I feel like my eyes are open in all directions and curious about EVERYONE’S life. I want to know the tips and the tricks. I want to survive. I don’t want my children to go without. Don’t we all? I constantly am in a fog of anxiety. It is exhausting. I’m hoping soon to get some kind of medication to help me with this. ( yes, coming from the med Nazi) because unfortunately I live somewhere, that weed is not yet legal. Therefore, I need a legal substance to function and not get in trouble for having. :) (Remember I got kids, otherwise I wouldn’t give a shit) Besides the fact I am going to college to obtain a psychology degree, and you can’t really have a stoner therapist right? I mean, it would be cool. But the reality of it seems far fetched.

So tell me, what have been your triggers? Do you have anything that helps calm you down? How do you go about your day with anxiety in the way? Have you had an increase in anxiety? What do you think of grocery prices and gas prices going up? Do you think they will ever come back down? → Last but not least, what do you think the end result will be? Please engage in my article and leave comments! I truly want to know! After all, we are all in this together.

anxiety
Like

About the Creator

Ashlie Cross

I am a mommy of 3 and full time college student ALWAYS trying to make ends meet.

I write a lot about how I feel.

How I want the world to be.

How I wish people were.

I write to release.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.