Psyche logo

Pandemic Anxieties

A look at how individuals are being effected by anxiety during a global pandemic.

By Ashley Beatty-PernettiPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

It’s no secret that those of us suffering from anxiety have noticed some changes in our mental health throughout this global pandemic. Some may be improving, feeling less anxious about things like social gatherings, public appearances, or just being able to enjoy staying home. Others may feel like the weight of the world is on their shoulders as they struggle with feelings of isolation and fear, worrying about their loved ones or how they will make ends meet. Maybe those who had never experienced anxiety before are feeling lost in unfamiliar thoughts and feelings. Whatever it may be, we are all going through changes. I’ve talked with a few individuals and asked them to share how this global pandemic has altered their mental health, specifically anxiety.

For Andrea, COVID-19 has increased her anxiety and left her alone with her thoughts.. “It feels like you’re trapped… you don’t get to do the things that would normally relieve your anxiety.” Andrea has been quarantined since March 15th, only leaving the house for necessary grocery trips and occasionally taking a drive just to have a change of scenery. “I just miss being able to go out, or go to the store without worrying about getting sick.” And although she works in healthcare, she was recently told that her temporary “work from home” position is now permanent, even after the social distancing orders are lifted. “I’m grateful that I still have a job, but I absolutely hate working from home… I’m not in the office anymore, I can’t interact with other people. I’m much less productive.”

On top of that, Andrea has completely lost all coping skills. When I asked how she’s been coping with her anxiety, she simply answered with “I haven’t been.” Trying to pretend like things are normal when you can’t see your friends or family hasn’t been easy for nearly anyone. Andrea did say she’s not worried about her loved ones, because she knows they're being careful and smart, but she is worried about the aftermath of this. “I hope things don’t go back to the way they were before, because the world has gotten so much better… but I know they will.” And I think a lot of us are feeling the fears of what’s to come after this pandemic slows down.

For Amanda, the anxiety of the unknown has contributed to her struggles, on top of being isolated and stuck in the house with her four children.

For Ariel, the thoughts of how long the pandemic will last is causing fear. “Not knowing how long I will be anxious about coming into contact with the virus” is causing more anxiety.

For Randi, struggling with keeping herself busy and lacking things to take her mind off of everything has increased her anxieties surrounding the global pandemic.

For Lindsey, being separated from her extended family and friends has caused her to have heightened anxiety, wondering if everyone is okay.

For Shay, her anxieties stem from her workplace “where nobody is following distancing measures or general guidelines to keep us safe.” She is also feeling overwhelmed and frustrated at those who are panic-buying items that we ALL need.

For Meagan, who had just started a job hunt as this pandemic was coming to the surface, she has been feeling anxious and pressured when her family constantly asks her what she plans to do for work. Finding work right now has caused anxiety for thousands of people simply due to the risk and being fearful of remaining safe and healthy.

On the other hand, not all who suffer from anxiety are suffering more. In fact, this pandemic and social distancing order has improved some individual’s mental health.

For Cassidy, in a normal scenario, leaving the house or coming up with an excuse not to would cause her to have anxiety. Now, she can safely stay home without anyone questioning her. “I’d much rather be at home.”

For Kayla, who is still working, she is able to stay home with her children and her husband while still bringing in a steady income. “No need to tell people I don’t want to go outside and play with them because they’re not asking me to.”

And for me, my anxiety has decreased slightly simply because I’m no longer working in a medical setting and surrounding myself with sick individuals. Hour long drives in morning and evening traffic no longer affect me. I’m home with my children, and my husband has the ability to work from home. However, there are pieces of this that have also caused increased anxiety. Struggling to pitch in financially as a freelancer is a big one, but taking it slow and doing what I love has helped me cope. I’m also worried about my elderly family members and my mom, who works as a nurse traveling to different homes and facilities every day. And lastly, I’m anxious about all the unknowns and inevitable changes. But these are things I have no control over - no one does.

Having anxiety during a global pandemic is a strange and unnerving experience, but remembering the positive aspects is what may carry us to the other side of this. Support one another, check in with your loved ones, express your worries, and lift each other up. If we’re going to come out of this stronger, we have to stand together.

anxiety
1

About the Creator

Ashley Beatty-Pernetti

Wife. Mom. Creator.

Just a messy 29-year-old, wading her way through life, one word at a time.

Raising mental health awareness with the written word and firsthand experience.

Both fiction and non-fiction stories to nourish your soul.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.