Psyche logo

On The Road To Anxiety Recovery.

Chapter One- Making The Decision.

By Nicola RattleyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
On The Road To Anxiety Recovery.
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Copyright © 2021 by Nicola Marie Rattley.

All rights reserved. No part of this book may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording, or by any information storage and retrieval system, without permission in writing from the copyright owner.

The first step, also one of the most difficult to take, making the decision to fight your Anxiety.

It's not an easy path to take, people with Anxiety learn to live with it, they have to so they can cope.

The decision to fight your Anxiety is a utterly terrifying one.

To someone with Anxiety that decision means changing a massive part of how they (we) live.

Change is never easy, especially to someone with Anxiety.

Many people who suffer from Anxiety need to feel in control, change tends to make them (us) feel like they have lost that control which can actually result in an Anxiety Panic Attack.

However if the decision to fight Anxiety is not made and change does not happen then one can't recover from Anxiety.

There are a few different types of Anxiety.

The most common ones are:

Generalised Anxiety Disorder (GAD).

Social Anxiety.

Specific Phobias.

Panic Disorder.

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD).

Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD).

I have been diagnosed with Social Anxiety and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), that is just on the Anxiety list, outside of that I have also been diagnosed with Depression and Autism.

Obviously all of this take their own effects, particularly on my Anxiety.

Something you need to know about the decision to fight Anxiety is the decision needs to be yours and yours alone.

You see I have had doctors and counsellors force this decision upon me when I was not ready for it, I was still learning to cope at the time, particularly with my depression.

This resulted in continuous failures as I could not cope with the stress of it all, which caused me to suffer from Anxiety Panic Attacks.

Sadly they blamed these failures on me which lessened my already all time low self-esteem and pushed me even further into my depression.

It actually became so bad I had Anxiety Panic Attacks before appointments to see my counsellor.

My mother however saw what was happening to me and helped me realise that I did not have to go through that sort of abuse.

I have not seen that counsellor since but my doctor however continued to refer me to a few different counsellors, all of which I was not ready to cope with, so I told him as such.

He was not happy with this but he couldn't deny that my mental health was declining because of it.

This was over at least a year ago now and I have slowly been finding ways to cope with my depression.

It hasn't magically gone away, I wish, I still have bad days, bad weeks even but when I do I have things that help me cope better now and I take it day by day.

However I am now more in the right mind to get on the road to Anxiety Recovery.

And this time it is completely my own decision.

I'm not going to lie, it was not an easy decision to make, I know what it entails and that is majorly pushing myself and leaving my comfort zone.

But this time I have something helping me and no its not another counsellor.

Its an online diploma in counselling and psychology.

Now I know what you are thinking 'I don't want to do a course just to get over my Anxiety' and you don't have too, this is my choice and there is more to it than to apply what I learn to myself.

I have the aspiration to become either a counsellor or life coach one day, I want to help other people who are in my situation.

That is one of the biggest reasons why I have made my decision to get on the road to Anxiety Recovery.

And to get on that road you need to make that decision and you need strong reasons and motivations as to why.

On The Road To Anxiety Recovery will continue in Chapter Two.

anxiety
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.