Psyche logo

Nested Night Terrors

My experience with them.

By Ashley LimaPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 4 min read
11
Nested Night Terrors
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

I've dealt with lucid dreaming, sleep paralysis, and nested dreams for a long time. Ever since I was a kid really. If you don't know what these are, I'll offer brief descriptions:

Lucid dreaming - being aware of the fact that you are asleep and dreaming, sometimes even being able to control what is happening in your dreams.

Sleep paralysis - the inability to move or speak while feeling that you are conscious/awake.

Nested dreams - feeling as though you've woken up from your dream only to realize you are still sleeping. Can happen once or multiple times.

One of my first bad experiences with these phenomena was during middle school. I realized I was asleep but it felt as though something was hovering over me in my bedroom. I could see everything in exact detail, my sheets, my bed frame, my window, the night sky shining in... I could see it both from inside and outside of my body. I tried to scream and move, but I couldn't. Eventually, I woke up. Except, in reality, I was just brought back into another dream. Once I realized I was in another nightmare, I tried to wake myself up again. It happened multiple times until I finally woke up gasping for breath.

The other night, I had one of my worst experiences with these nested night terrors ever, and today I'd like to share them with you.

Normally, I avoid falling asleep on my back because for some reason, falling asleep on one's back seems to exacerbate these problems. It was pushing two in the morning, and I had to be up for work by 8:55 (perks of working from home). I knew I had to fall asleep quickly lest be plagued by fatigue all day Monday.

I rolled over onto my right side, facing the middle of the bed. My partner was sleeping soundly beside me. I closed my eyes, and within minutes, I felt like I was asleep and awake at the same time.

This sensation scared me. Once I realized it, It felt as though I was suffocating. I struggled to breathe. I tried to kick my legs and scream, but no noise would come and any movement failed me. After some minutes of effort, I did manage to scream. I started flailing in the bed, and I woke my partner with a start.

I apologized profusely, for I didn't mean to interrupt his slumber. He didn't think much of it and lulled himself back into dreamland. I decided then, to switch positions. I turned my body in a complete one-eighty and slept with my head in the middle of the bed and my feet on my pillows.

Except this didn't really happen. I never actually woke up kicking and screaming, I just dreamed that I did, and the sensation began again. I found myself for a second time, paralyzed and frozen in place.

On my third awakening, things finally felt normal. I woke up on the right side of the bed. I heard the AC humming in the background. I felt like I could finally breathe easily; my episode had ended.

I went over to the AC unit because it felt very cold, and I was ready to turn it off. Unfortunately, when I looked out the window, the skies in the fields across the street from my house were red. Lightning was striking the land, and loud booms began to occur.

Thanks to the light of the strikes, I was able to see two massive tornadoes forming, and they were heading in our direction. I started yelling at my partner to get the dogs. I ran across the hallway into my child's bedroom and scooped him up from his mattress. I then proceeded to run down the stairs to the basement faster than I ever have in my life.

I didn't feel tired from carrying a forty-pound, four-year-old. Surely it had to be the adrenaline of a terrifying situation. Once I got into the basement, everything seemed normal except for the fact that my childhood dining table was in the place where our pool table was supposed to be standing.

Shit, another nightmare. At least I realized it... Again, I tried to wake myself up. I forced myself to try and scream. I was trying to move my limbs in any way I possibly could to break free from this terror. I had two more false awakenings before I actually regained consciousness. Each time consisted of me looking out the window at something terrifying (aliens in one go and a SWAT team or law enforcement of some kind in the other). However, the strangest thing happened on that last awakening, something that has never occurred before.

Right before I awoke, I saw patterns at the back of my eyelids. Deep, colorful, geometric tapestries of light and shadow. All the colors of the rainbow, and even some I could not recognize, putting on a show. It was so bizarre that I wasn't in too much of a rush to finally open my eyes.

When I did open my eyes, it was with a gasp. My chest was pounding; heart nearly beating out of my shirt. There was a cool layer of sweat sticking to my forehead, and it took me a few minutes to catch my breath. I unlocked my phone to look at the time, and only thirty minutes had gone by.

From that moment, I was really scared to go back to sleep, but I did eventually, and the episodes didn't continue thankfully. I didn't fall asleep on my back that night, but it still happened, so now I'm reeling with the why's. These episodes are no fun, and from what I understand, they are quite rare. No one in my real life has ever had experiences like these, have you?

Thank you for reading. Let me know in the comments if you've ever had any events of sleep paralysis, nested dreaming, or lucid dreaming. If you're feeling up to it, let me know what happened too! I can't be alone in this.

panic attacksanxiety
11

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    😮😮😮. For the longest time I thought I would never run into someone else that had Sleep paralysis. In my case, I fell on my head pretty hard when I was 15... 2 months later the first episode happened. I had no idea what the hell was going on. I would see and hear stuff all the while trying to squirm out of it. After the first dozen times it happened, I started doing research. I thought I was suffering from a mild form of epilepsy but soon found out it was sleep paralysis. It hasn't happened in at least 8 months and was happening less frequently the older I got. I always hoped that every time it happened was the last. I never sleep on my back or stomach. The stomach was the worst for me because of the struggle to breath. It's such a scary condition. As long as I'm in the right position, I can use my full concentration to move my leg enough and get it to fall off the side of the bed. it usually brings me right out of it. My god I could go on for hours about this. Thank you for sharing your experience. I hope you grow out of it as I seem to be doing. 💖

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    I come from a complete family of empaths. When my mom passed my sis dreamed of her giving her 3 roses, each for people who were going to die, Within a month all 3 died. I can literally see in between sleep and reality, kind of being half asleep but know what is happening. I used to wake up screaming too, i would see ghostlike apparitions coming through the half asleep state. This happens if I am stressed about something mostly. I hear it is my paternal grandma who comes to visit. I am her spitting image, For years i dreamed the same dream. Lost in th woods, caught in a horrible storm and stranded on a bridge over the ocean. Never fell in no matter how the storm raged, One night I found my way onto a long perfect road. I had overcome my dreams. Never had that dream again. I got sleep paralysis a couple times. I would repeat 'the lord is my shephad, i shall not want bible verse over and over'. We all have our own out of a situation. You are not alone, I rely on the bible to ward off whatever it is. I just open it to the Psalms and belief kills or cures. Choose your method. Your mind is the key.

  • Harbor Benassa10 months ago

    What a coincidence- I only experience sleep paralysis while sleeping on my back, too. I'm able to consistently get out of it by wiggling my fingertips or toes first and gradually moving connected parts of my body until I'm not paralyzed anymore. I don't have night terrors, so I can't offer any better suggestions there, but making tiny movements until the rest of my body wakes up definitely helps with the sleep paralysis.

  • Rui Alves10 months ago

    I never experienced sleeping paralysis, but I am empath and lucid dreaming is quite common for me.

  • This is excellent work and insightful ❤️‼️

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    I'm sorry you are going through this

  • Mark Gagnon10 months ago

    I rarely dream, or if I do I don't remember them. After reading your account of them, I'm grateful for that. Interesting story, Ashley.

  • Suze Kay10 months ago

    Oh man, I never knew that there was a word for nested dreams! As a little kid, I had a repetitive nested dream that tortured me almost every night for a few years. Thanks for sharing this info!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Nice, both very informative and personally relatable. Would it be mean if I say, don't let the bedbugs bite? Good job. :)

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    So sorry this happened to you. I’ve experienced something similar a few years ago and I’m so glad it’s over. Hope it never returns. ❤️

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Crikey...apart from when the tornadoes started etc. I fully relate to the other stuff. I've had problems with sleep paralysis on and off most of my teen to adult life. When I was younger, back in the 90s didn't realise what it was. It just felt like, as you so vividly described, I was awake and could see the room in great detail but was not able to talk, move or anything. It was often the case that when I gave up, I woke. I've had night hag incidents too and nested dreams sounds so very familiar too, though I was not aware of the name (I probably was, but my memory sometimes is rubbish). I have made a habit of being bad at going to sleep for so long now. I try to stay awake as long as I can, especially if I'm sleeping separately to my wife (Which normally happens because I have severe restless leg a lot of the time and snore like a warthog haha) because I can't cope with the nightmares or the potential for nightmares. So usually my sleep just takes me when my body has had enough! Anyway, this was a very well written and insightful article - so thank you for it, it reassured me that I didn't just imagine those events.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.