Psyche logo

Nananell has arrived

Join Nananell as she shares her thoughts, ideas and crafts

By Janelle ReevesPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Hand carved logo for nananellshandicrafts.com

Well hi everyone. I am Nananell and I only really began learning about social media and digital anything in the last month or so. Don’t get me wrong, I had Facebook and apparently I had a twitter account but I had no idea of the opportunities that Social Media has for artists, creators, business people or anyone else in the world.

So what could I possibly write about for anyone reading this? As my name suggests, I am a Nana. My 3 children; daughter 31; and two sons aged 25 and 19. And my daughter has given me two beautiful grandchildren, an 11 year old granddaughter and 9 month old grandson. Not that amazing unless you know tha I was told at the age of 15 that I would never have kids because I lived with endometriosis. Although I was surprised when I fell pregnant at 17, my mother was horrified.

I also live with a number of mental health issues including ADHD; Bipolar II Disorder; PTSD; OCD; Anxiety, Major Depressive Disorder, Restless Legs and I am sure there are another 1 or 2 that I am forgetting. I am very open about my mental health issues, I have co-founded two non-profit organisations, I have spoken to over 1500 secondary students about mental illness and maintaining good mental health, I have spoken at the THMS Conference twice, in Canberra and Auckland, New Zealand and my husband and I have spoken on websites and DVD’s about mental illness.

Ways some of our community members “Take time for mental health“

I am very proactive in my own journey with mental illness. I was first diagnosed with ADHD, Anxiety and depression when I was 25 years old and it would take another 7 years to get a more “accurate” diagnosis of Bipolar II Disorder. I have had to learn what I like, what I enjoy, what can I do for ME? And I have learnt that I am able to learn new skills, I can carve names, words and shapes into wood, I can draw something, convert it to a 3D printer, print, make a silicone mould and then create resin items that I use when I make sun catchers, bracelets, necklaces, key rings etc.

Resin butterfly pendants

Variety of pendants and colours I have made out of resin.

I honestly thought I would struggle to write an introductory story but it has been very cathartic and relaxing and I do hope that if you are reading this, you are still awake, and you may find something of interest. I do enjoy answering questions and if I do not know the answer, I will let people know. After all, I may be 49 years young, be a wife, mother, Aunty, grandmother, but there is so much that I am still learning and I would really like to share my “self-discovery journey” with you. I will warn you, sometimes my journey can get very bumpy and I aim to share those times as well as the good. The reason I plan to share the bad times as well is to let you, the reader, know that it is ok to not be ok. I will share my coping strategies as well. For example, the photo below is a reminder to myself to know the difference between self-care and self-development FOR ME.

Self-care self-development reminder in NaN Cave

Well I think I have shared enough for a first timer, I am really looking forward to writing my next story very soon.

Stay safe and well

Nananell

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Janelle Reeves

I am a 49 year old wife, mother and grandmother who has recently started a business partnership with my 19 year old son, Nananell’s Handicrafts. Now I stumbled onto Vocal, where I can write short stories in a brief amount of time.

Enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.