Psyche logo

My mind is a time machine.

a short descriptive story of how trauma comes to visit me in my dreams daily.

By Maria Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Ghost's of my past sneak into my mind and play tricks on me through the night time. Tiny traumas of the past, sneak their way into my mind to disturb me, even the fairy lights aren't as comforting as they were before I drifted off in this unwanted war. The war in my mind is when the ghost start to play foolish games with the past which could cause to me to panic and not play.

Familiar faces and Friends peer their way into my dreams, which soon turned into a frightful night that replicate the past. My emotions have completely left me, as I've learnt to block the thoughts and fears, but through out the dream, tears start to roll down my face and soak the pillow that my head is comfortable resting on, in one place. I can't move as the movie of my past plays in my mind, no pause button to press, am I able to put this nightmare to rest.

Why must these things haunt me for so long and when will they leave, all I ever wanted was to be free from these dreams. The memory's and feelings, I once forgot, all appear in my head at once and they will not stop! Night after night, no matter what I do to sleep comfortably, these demons of the past sneak their way into my mind and make it their home for the night. I wish i could dig up a great big hole and bury them inside, for no one to hear and so no one needs to hide from these demons of my mind that play tricks on me at night

My mind is like a time machine, It switches on as I close my eyes and once again I'm back in time. In the time that was painful like no other time in my life. I wish it would crash and smash into a million pieces and float away into the back of my mind, locked in a cage where no one can find. The demons in my mind control this machine and poke fun of me because of my past life.

I wake up with a jolt and my eyes open wide. I remember the dream like it was yesterday, questing myself if these were actual events that have happened recently as they feel so life like. I tell friend, a lover or a family member about my trip in the time machine. They laugh and push it aside just like any old story or rhyme. But for me, it is very real and distressing, I am not messing.

My mind is a time machine of trauma. I close my eyes and jump in time, a time where life wasn't so nice and at time the ghosts and demons of that time come to disturb my mind and keep me up late at night. I hope one day they move out and find a different place to rest, so my mind can feel at its best and a smile can appear on my face while I rest.

Now tonight, I hope they will be a bit nice and give me a break, just for one night and I will smile when I open up my eyes to the sun shine, that shines brightly into my life. As the past is just a memory and the present is a lot more meaningful than what them demons tell me at night.

(contexts: I wrote this after experiencing a lot of traumatic dreams for many nights and felt like i needed to express the stress it causes me in a creative way. So I hope who ever is reading this enjoyed this piece of creative writing and give it your own meaning!)

trauma
Like

About the Creator

Maria

I'm Maria!

I enjoy writing about my large variety of things, from non-fiction stories, to fiction writing about daily life or serious topics related to our day to day lives. I am also a student, who students English Lit and Creative writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.