Psyche logo

My brother's alcoholic problem made him into a monster.

For 6 months we tried to help, only to be seen as an enemy.

By stephanie borgesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

It is natural for humans to want to help, and that's what we did for my brother. When we are young we are taught that siblings need to be there for each other and support each other. But what if the sibling, whom you are helping is an alcoholic, drug-addict, and is not only going through mental issues but also prevented from going to jail. This happen to my brother (I don‘t want to use his name, so I will call him 39 because of his age, at the time) For six months 39 stayed at our house because he was homeless. He lived rent-free, he slept on the couch, We were trying to help him get back on his feet. Everything was ok the first couple of months; 39 got 2 jobs he was making his payments on his court dates, doing his mandatory community service on time, going to AA (Alcohol Anonymous), and helping out around the house. I thought 39 was going the right path, but slowly he was going back to his old ways, it was like he couldn’t get his demons to leave him alone.

Photo by DiamondRehab Thailand on Unsplash

Alcohol had strong control over him. He started drinking heavy beers and hard liquor. There were times he would chug a 1.75 L bottle of Jack Daniels by himself. That bottle is enough for at least 10 people to have 2 glasses. And this was in the morning. He would barely eat food, sleep all day, watch tv in the middle of the night, basically he was acting like a teenager. He stopped attending his mandatory AA (Alcohol Anonymous) and community service because he started to show up extremely late or hungover. And got fired from both his jobs. 39 was becoming aggressive and abusive both physically and verbally.

It was almost about two weeks when he decided to pack up and leave on his own that he started to act and say stupid things.

Photo by Mario Heller on Unsplash

He started to get paranoid thinking someone was out to kill him. Then he offended me and my husband by saying we were planning to kill him and he goes on saying he knows about the camera and speakers all over the house even in my car. That is to keep an eye on him and to track his every move. The only cameras and speakers are all over the house and in the car; are our cellphone, my DSLR camera to take pictures, the speakers on the TV to get that amazing surround sound, and the same goes for the car.

I am happy to say he is no longer living with me, my husband, and my mom in our home.

Photo by BRUNO EMMANUELLE on Unsplash

There is so much peace and quiet. Even the pets are happy they are running around the house and they stop scratching themselves because of anxiety.

When I told my mother-in-law about 39 and how he just packed up and left. She explain that the reason he went crazy was that it could not just be drugs, but since he was consuming more alcohol than the average person, and he was barely eating he was self-damaging his liver, kidneys, and brain.

I’m not in the medical field, my mother-in-law is and I had to look up some of the health issues.

Photo by Rex Pickar on Unsplash

I don’t drink but just knowing what alcohol does to you when you drink so much is scary, one or two now and then won’t do so much, but my brother was going overboard.

I started to see the damage alcohol was doing, he was spending about one hour in the bathroom, he began to be paranoid about everything, it got to the point where he even thought the cat was trying to hurt him. (I’ll admit it, it does sound funny, but I was worried about the cat)

I came across a video explaining why alcoholics act this certain way. The YouTuber's name is JJ Medicine. I added a link from youtube. Check it out

addiction
Like

About the Creator

stephanie borges

I've been writing off and on for years; I write short stories, scripts, and blogs. I can't think of anything more relaxing than writing. I also do graphic design.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.