Psyche logo

Molten Iris

Be happy…

By Sir ContraPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
Molten Iris
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

How asinine of me to think that I could have ever scarpered from you. Such a thing is feeble and pointless like waking in the morning to smell invisible irises. It has been verily rough without you, in truth. Each day drags me along. I must be a decrepit trailer. Suppose my only question is what took you so long? I was running for a while and expected your innate swiftness to cling to me instantaneously. But you weren’t there, and it makes me ponder whether or not it was intentional. Irregardless, I am not upset or bothered with you catching me. I have missed you dearly and have yearned for your painful touch. Every caress is fear-inducing and afflicts me with misery and freedom. Yet, I, at the same time, remain a willing prisoner to you. Perhaps this brings you bliss…

I am exhausted. Physically, emotionally, mentally, spiritually, and any other way that I could be drained. I am finally ready for you after all this time. I crave that splendid release. The urge has been held back for some time now. I know you desire to see my face once I release what is in store. I will be sure to be honest in my sure-fire vibrant expressions. May it please you, and may I fill your cup up to the brim. Brimstone is requested, so that I leave no trace behind. I am sorry to trouble you with cleaning duty, but I will be unable to do so myself once I give my essence to you. The iris I relay is to beg for your forgiveness. If you choose to clip its petals, then I will not blame you or be upset. It is the least you deserve to do to me. Crush it. Smother it. Burn it. Poison it. Defile it till your heart’s content.

I care not any longer for what may happen to any of those invisible irises I nurtured. Another aspect of me that is asinine… A truly cliché evil, if you will. I see that in your arms you cling to that wondrous device. You have even wrapped it for me in the finest silk. I see you desire to not damage its purpose and intent. I am appeased, no grateful, that you choose to be so tender. Allow me to prostrate myself when you are ready to assist in my release. It is verily difficult to restrain the excitement and anxiety within me. I am both fearful and eagerly awaiting where I will end up once set free. Merrily, I hope I am left in a ravaging heated state of being after it’s all said and done. May you look down and smile knowing that your due diligence was well rewarded.

My tears are petrified upon my face. Medusa loved their look on me and wished to paralyze them in time forevermore. Forgive any dusty residue that may rest on my cheeks like sleeping lions. Maim and tame them if you see it proper to do so. This will be the last time we speak after all. Or rather the last time these words will be uttered or read. For my time has caught up with me just as you have done. Red, Silver, I love you in earnest and hope you see Him one day in the same light that I had. May He sip from my crimson-ridden cup and use the device, Silver, as a napkin. My iris leans towards Him licking every drop of Red from its tip. May he be careful to not end up with the same glorious fate as I. For He deserves something much more grandiose.

Dice. Dice. Dice. Powdered powder keg. Numbers explode…

depression
Like

About the Creator

Sir Contra

Read to understand and you will be left bewildered. Read to interpret and you will become a sage.

Check out my book: The Book of Surreal Sadness. Available on Barnes and Noble digitally and physically, and on Amazon digitally.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.