Psyche logo

mirrored

broken for a better future

By Charity ValdezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Where do I even begin about talking about my teenage years and what songs kept me alive during the time that I felt so lost. Each song will explain my feelings as to why I have emotional connections to each, and I may also get a bit personal so there may be some trigger warnings as I get personal.

Perfect by Simple Plan

I am not going to lie I was a fan of the Canadian band Simple Plan because they had such fun and upbeat messages but when Perfect made its public appearance all had seemed to make so much sense to me because during this time I was living with my grandfather after a sexual assault that had happened while living with my mother in another state. The as to reason I was raped was because I came out as bisexual even before pansexual became a thing. These God-fearing football stars of the school thought it would be okay to rape the gay right out of me and then turn around and blame the whole charade on me because I was promiscuous. The truth is those who raped me did not want to lose their scholarships or standing with their churches that taught them all this hate. This put a huge damper on myself confidence and because I was raped for being myself, I felt like I could not come out to my family because I thought I would be shunned and cast out. After this had happened, I started cutting myself, forming huge body dysmorphia, and spiraling into a form of depression because I thought nobody would ever accept me for who I was. My grandfather had shown so much understanding and unconditional love towards helping me get better through this time in my life.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RUi54JTgL5s

Welcome Home (Sanitarium) by Metallica

Even though this song came out way before my time I do feel that this song served a significant purpose throughout this very abusive and toxic relationship that I found myself in at fifteen. I initially got into this relationship thinking it was the coolest thing ever dating someone who was twenty-three. Everything was amazing at first until it came time hang out with my friends or dress in alternative /Goth fashion. He would become emotionally abusive with me when I would dress up in my own set of fashions and he did not want to be seen with a “Freak and he wanted me to dress normal, so his friends had someone to look at as well.” As time went on and I had moved I with him at the age of sixteen he had gotten too jealous of my friends he had pretended to be me on several occasions and tried to ravage my friendships. As the lyrics state” Whisper things into my brain assuring me that I’m insane (Metallica).” These lyrics prove everything about being in a toxic relationship because the more you stay and endure the more you lose grip with your own reality and become one with the lost. Could it be that we stay for so long because we think that he/she will change or because we become naïve with distortions of what our new reality will be like if we leave them? Not all of us make It out of this jungle alive. After four and a half years of going through this I walked out and never looked back.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RUi54JTgL5s

Beauty Killer by Jeffree Star and Pretty Rave Girl by DJ S3RL

Listening to both songs brings a whole onslaught and slew of emotions because to get rid of the pain and heart break I felt came the stage of hardcore partying and ecstasy/ acid trips. Partying became a habitual habit. It felt this way because I felt pretty after I did these drugs because they helped to fill a hole in my life that I did not know how to fix. The best times came with this stage because I got to meet people who helped me grow as to becoming a part of the twenty-seven club.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RUi54JTgL5s

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RUi54JTgL5s

Serenity by Godsmack

Please do not worry because there is not a tragic answer to this story. A few weeks before I turned nineteen, I had gotten pregnant with my son, and I knew then that I had to change for our future. I stopped thinking that drugs were the only option to help free who I was and started thinking about what kind of mother my son needed. May be the events that we go through help serve as steppingstones stones for a better future.

trauma
1

About the Creator

Charity Valdez

Sta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.