Psyche logo

Living with a Mental Illness

My Daily Struggle to Survive

By Phoenix CobainPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like
In memory of all the lives lost to suicide and in honor of those who have survived

First off, I'm going to let it be known right here and now that I am not ashamed to admit that I have a mental illness and I somehow manage to make it through each and every single day of my life without hurting myself or anyone else. Some days this is not an easy task. Some days it takes all I have inside of me just to get up out of bed in the morning. I honestly hate it. There is not one single day where I do not know that I have it because each day it presents a new challenge to my life in one way or another. Please allow me to explain.

I suffer from severe depression, anxiety, and PTSD. I was first diagnosed with the depression and anxiety after my marriage of eight years came to a crash ending. There were days where all I would do was cry for days on end and I wouldn't want to eat, sleep, or get out of the house. All I wanted to do was be alone in my dark room so no one would see me hurting. I honestly believed that I would burden people with my issues if I were to open up about what I was going through. It was one of the lowest points of my life. I became so despondent that one day I attempted to take my own life (I will not specify how because I do not feel that those kind of details are important to my story at this time) and that was when I was given my diagnosis. I felt like I had been branded or cursed. I was put on medication for both my anxiety and my depression, and I was hospitalized for nearly three weeks.

I was also assigned a therapist of whom I ended up meeting with once a week for four and a half years. By the 5th year I began feeling better so my therapist took me off of my medications. I did fine for a while until I ended up in an extremely abusive relationship. That was when I developed the PTSD. Needless to say, I ended up back in the hospital, back on meds, and back in therapy. I was miserable. There wasn't a day that went by where I didn't wish to be normal. That went on for another three years, then my therapist once again took me off of my medications and once again I felt better for a while until abusive relationship number two. Wash, rinse, and repeat. I attempted suicide, wound up in the hospital for three weeks, back on meds, back in therapy and that is where I'm still at right now.

Living with a mental illness is really tough because there is a social stigma around it so I find that I'm not really comfortable talking to many people about it. I kinda learned to keep certain things to myself because I feel that unless someone else is going through or has been through what I have gone through or what I am going through they just don't understand and a lot of the time they just don't want to hear it. I also hate hearing questions like "How can you be depressed when you have such beautiful children?" So I just prefer not to talk about my mental health issues to many people anymore.

My mental illness is something that also affects all of my relationships, be it with friends or with family. Thankfully, I have a few really great friends and family members who have managed to ride out the storm with me and for that, I am truly blessed. I've even met myself a really great man recently who treats me great and refuses to go anywhere even on my most difficult days. I truly love him for this because I never thought I'd find someone who would be kind to me like at all and I never in a million thought that I'd find a man who would tolerate my mental state on a daily basis and still manage to love me and be proud to be with me. My children have learned to accept it as the new normal as well. After all, I was diagnosed with my mental illness when they were babies so it is really all they have ever really known. I'm never mean to them, they just know that their mum has both good and bad days and that my bad days can sometimes be really, really rough for me. They love and support me and I would be so very lost without them.

I'm also proud of myself because I have managed to keep myself going each and every day, even despite the fact that I have lost three friends just this year alone to suicide. It truly isn't easy. Like I said before there are days where I don't even want to get up out of bed and those are the days that are the worst. I still have thought of hurting myself every now and then (I have never had thoughts of hurting anyone else; let's be clear on that right now) but I somehow manage to pull myself out of it without doing any physical harm to myself. I just wish I knew how LOL.

I have had some people tell me that I am strong and brave. I don't see it. I see myself just like everyone else only I have to live my life differently from most because it's a good bet I will probably be medicated for most if not all of the rest of my life. I'm not stronger or any braver than the next person; I'm just trying to get by and managing (even if it is just barely) to do so. Win, lose, or draw this is my life and how or if I choose to live it is entirely up to no one but me. Today, I'm choosing to live.

I have a message for those of you who are suffering with a mental illness every day. I know it's hard and I know you may feel alone, unwanted, tired, and scared but please, if you're not already, please I beg you to get yourself some help. You are worth it. You are loved and wanted. Your life needs to continue. Your voice needs to be heard. Without people like us, the stigma around mental illness will never go away. Things may not always go right and that's okay cause you are strong enough to get through it. Don't let your diagnosis define you. Get help and keep living.

stigma
Like

About the Creator

Phoenix Cobain

Phoenix escaped her gilded cage and rose from the ashes broken yet beautiful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.