Psyche logo

Life Lesson Learned

(Passing Ships Challenge)

By Holy Christian Gadiana QuerobinPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Life Lesson Learned
Photo by Peter Conlan on Unsplash

I remember a small moment in my life that significantly impacted me. It occurred when I started my first writing job in my early twenties. I was working for a small magazine and eager to prove myself. I spent a lot of time in the office writing articles that would pique the interest of our readers and should be thought-provoking.

One day, I was assigned to cover a local charity event. It was a children's hospital fundraiser, and the organizers had arranged a fashion show featuring young cancer survivors as models. I arrived at the venue early in the morning, feeling excitement and nervousness. I wanted to ensure I did an excellent job because this was my first time covering an event like this.

As the models arrived, I observed them. They were all beautiful, with bright eyes and radiant smiles. However, I noticed something else about them as they made their way down the runway. They had a certain grace and confidence that came from within. Despite having experienced so much at such a young age, they could stand tall and be proud of who they were.

After the show, I interviewed some of the models. They shared with me how their battle with cancer had affected their lives. They discussed the love and support they had received from their families and communities and the agony and fear they had experienced. They discussed how they had figured out how to see the value in each snapshot of life and underestimate nothing.

I felt something shift inside of me as I listened to their stories. I understood I had been so centered around my aspirations and objectives that I had disregarded the master plan. I've lost sight of what matters in my worries and insecurities.

That small moment at the charity event I have taught me a valuable lesson about perspective. It demonstrated that life encompasses so much more than just my concerns. We brought to my attention that other people with challenges were much more significant than mine, but they could still find joy and purpose in their lives.

From that day on, I approached my work with a new purpose. I wrote with more empathy and understanding to connect with my readers more deeply. I sought stories that would inspire and uplift and remind people of the goodness in the world. As a writer, I realized my job was to inform, inspire, and motivate.

That small moment I have also significantly impacted my personal life. I began focusing more on the individuals around me to be more present. I started to see the value in the easily overlooked details throughout everyday life, similar to the sun's glow on my skin or the breeze stirring through the trees. I figured out how to be thankful for what I had and to relinquish the things that didn't make any difference.

I can see now that my brief moment at the charity event marked a turning point in my life. It served as a wake-up call and a reminder that there was so much more to life than my worries. I learned how vital empathy, compassion, and gratitude are. It demonstrated that despite difficulties, there is always a reason to persevere and hope.

I remember that lesson every day as a writer. I try to bring the same optimism and hope to my work as those young cancer survivors did for me all those years ago. I remind my readers they are not alone, regardless of their difficulties. There is always a good reason to persevere, fight, and believe in themselves.

That small moment they have also taught me to appreciate the power of storytelling. Stories can connect us, inspire us, and bring us together. They can assist us in gaining a new perspective on the world and comprehending the experiences of others. I have the privilege, as a writer, of telling stories that can change lives.

In the years since that charity event, I have encountered many other small moments that have significantly impacted me. Nonetheless, that event marked a pivotal moment in my worldview. It also taught me the power of storytelling and the significance of empathy, compassion, and gratitude.

I want to tell stories that can change people's lives and motivate and inspire them as writers. Moreover, I make it a highlight experience every day with a feeling of direction and appreciation since I'm mindful that there is continually something for which I can be grateful and motivated to continue onward.

workcoping

About the Creator

Holy Christian Gadiana Querobin

I’m a University of San Carlos student and I love writing stories and articles in my free time because It’s my interest and greatly helps me.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Holy Christian Gadiana QuerobinWritten by Holy Christian Gadiana Querobin

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.