Psyche logo

Let's Vibe

A place to talk about feelings

By Marc PerainoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

If there's anything abundant in our American society today, I would have to say it's emotional and psychological hurt. I don't believe there's a person alive that hasn't experienced the pain that this world has to offer, but in America in particular, people are hurting. In recent months the entire world, and especially the United States, have seen immense pain and grief with the onslaught of covid-19. Lives have been upended and cases of mental health issues have skyrocketed. I've seen friends and family, people who I figured were impervious to things like anxiety, suddenly deal with mental health problems they've never experienced before. And I know what this means and what it feels like, because I've been there, and I want to tell others that healing, even from deep trauma, is real and attainable.

My own journey of healing from trauma and mental illness was a very long and arduous one, but what I've gained from these painful experiences is the discovery that true healing from emotional and mental trauma is possible. This is the fire that drives me--a vision of helping as many as I can break through their own traumatic prisons and experience life once more. The best way I can do this is by sharing my stories, what I've learned, and tapping into my own sensitivity to describe the subtler aspects of healing.

I'm an energy worker, a writer, a linguist, a teacher, an artist, and a highly sensitive person. I have always had a high sensitivity to energy, but it took many years of deep struggle and self-work to understand these sensitivities and to learn how to listen to what the energy is telling me. My life experiences and the healing work I've done on myself (with the help of professional counselors) have led me to a place where I am ready to share all that I've gathered with others, drawing upon the knowledge I've gained in the healing of my own traumas. I seek to bring a message of healing to others and, like an alchemist, combine seemingly disparate pieces of my own life into a single work.

In recent years I've discovered a love for crystals and stones, which are coincidentally enjoying a boom, especially among younger generations. It's great to see more and more people embracing healing crystals and the metaphysical, but I've noticed that there's a gap between this growing interest in crystals and actually knowing how to tap into the subtle energies that make crystals so special. Where and how does one learn to make use of these stones? And how can these stones have anything to do with healing of any kind? This is the space I want to fill, the questions I want to answer, and I've begun to do this through YouTube.

My YouTube channel is called Let's Vibe, and it's a place to talk about all things metaphysical--our minds, our feelings, and what these stones and subtle energies are all about. It's also consequently about emotional and psychological wounds and the healing of hurts, which I believe can only take place when we talk about our feelings. I want to help make the metaphysical a little more "real", and help turn crystals into something more than just a trend or a nice decorative piece. I do this by sharing my own personal experiences with various stones, describing how their energies feel, how I make use of these energies, and the process of making these energetic connections. These are heady concepts, but I'm confident in my ability to articulate. My goal is not to convince the skeptics, but rather to lend a hand to others out there like me, people looking for deeper answers to their own healing, the kind of answers that we don't find in pills or self-help books.

This is a project that has been in the making long before I was even aware of it, and it was only in recent years that I've begun to see the pieces of my eclectic knowledge and skills come together with a sense of wonder. I've always been a spiritually-inclined person. I'm inspired by the mystical, the mysterious, and all of the intangible things that our modern American society has rejected as pseudo-science or simply worthless within the framework of monetization and capitalization.

Speaking of monetization, however, I do believe the best way to monetize this project would be to offer tiered monthly membership options for my channel on YouTube. There would be three tiers set at $3, $5, and $7 respectively. Each tier would provide an increasing level of access to specialized and more personalized videos where I can discuss specific topics in greater detail, share more about my own personal journey and experiences, and even provide personalized insight for patrons through other tools such as Tarot and astrology. The realm of the spiritual and metaphysical intersects with our thoughts and feelings and ultimately our day-to-day lives and how we move through the world we live in. This is ultimately about connecting with ourselves, our inner voices, and finding an anchor by which we can stake our place in the world as a valid and whole individual deserving of healing and peace.

In the end though, crystals and stones aren't responsible for the work of healing our hearts and minds. This healing is our own responsibility, our own work. Stones and crystals are merely tools for accessing the resources that dwell deep within us, uncovering the answers that hide in the recesses of our minds, and (re)discovering the strength that we've always had. It's common in the U.S. to hear people praise the value of hard work, to equate their own value with the amount of physical labor they do each day. I'm all for working hard, but in a different kind of way. I propose it's time we start doing the hard work of knowing ourselves and healing ourselves in this time of struggle and change. I'm not a doctor or a therapist, but I am a survivor of trauma, and I have an energy of hope to share with anyone open to receive it.

advice

About the Creator

Marc Peraino

Short fiction and poetry author in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Marc PerainoWritten by Marc Peraino

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.