Psyche logo

Just Get Over It

Anxiety & Panic Attacks Are Not Just in Your Head

By Somer Michalski-JonesPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

"Just get over it." "It's all in your head." "You could stop it if you wanted to." These are just some of the many things people with anxiety or panic attacks hear so often from people who don't understand this condition. I have lived with this mental illness for many years now and before I had my first panic attack, I too said these things. I had no idea what anxiety or panic attacks were like so I just thought they were just being dramatic or it was all in their heads. The first experience that I had that began my journey with this condition came a day after a horrible near-drowning accident. I jumped off a 25 foot cliff and when I hit the water, I had my mouth and nose wide open, so water rushed right into my lungs. I surfaced and could not breathe. Luckily there was a friend there who grabbed me and helped.

My first panic attack hit the next day on my way home and that moment changed my life forever. I had no indication that it would happen, but when it did, I had no clue what was going on. I literally thought I was dying. It shook me up pretty bad. I went to the doctor the next day and she diagnosed it as a panic attack. Finally, I had a name for it. Since then, I deal with anxiety and panic attacks on a daily basis.

It changes you as a person. It changes the way you think, the way you look at life, the way you perceive every day things. I have had dark times with this illness, and at one point ended up in a psych ward. There were times where I would dread just walking out to my mailbox. I've had times where I couldn't drive, couldn't even be home by myself because the anxiety would overtake me and I felt like constantly couldn't breathe. I had to have some other adult home with me or I would cry until someone could come. Mind you, I had three kids at the time to care for and a husband who worked out of town Monday through Friday. It was hard to say the least. I would have to leave the shower door open when taking a shower because I hated feeling closed in. I would have to have my mom go to the store for me because I couldn't drive or even ride in a car. I would literally stand at my living room window and cry as I watched these people drive by in their cars, wishing I could do that with no worries.

I have been to numerous counselors, psychiatrists, psychologists, and doctors. I did a TON of research on anxiety throughout the years and one psychiatrist I went to told me how well educated I was on the subject and there wasn't much he could tell me that I didn't already know. I have been told I will be on medication for the rest of my life and that's okay.

I want you to know if you have this mental illness you are definitely NOT ALONE. It is NOT just in your head, you CAN'T just get over it, and DO NOT be ashamed of yourself. DO NOT let people tear you down even more so than this condition already has. It's a constant battle and you don't need anything negative around you. You ARE NOT CRAZY. You have an illness that you can't control. Yes, there are coping mechanisms that you can teach yourself to do but I know that they don't always work every time. This illness will ruin and run your life if you let it, but that's not living. Think positive. It really does work! It took me a long time to change my thinking pattern but it did do a LOT of good when I finally got it.

Just know you aren't alone.

Next time someone who has said something to you about your mental illness is experiencing something bad, tell them to "just get over it." It might finally get the message across. :)

anxiety
Like

About the Creator

Somer Michalski-Jones

Mother of 4

Lover of Life

Southern Belle

Always Be Kind❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.