Psyche logo

Imagine that...

unconscious conscious creation

By robert rowePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

The year was 2016 and my identity had vanished. I struggled to come to grips with what was happening but the more I struggled the more the answers seemed to evade me. The details in retrospect are unimportant, the only thing that mattered to me at the time was what was I going to do now that my dream job was gone. The dream job that I had done for the past 26 years was gone without any explanation or warning; just a phone call saying that I had no job to come to Monday morning. I knew things always work out for me so I began sending out my resume and looking for new careers that would surely come knocking on my door. However after many weeks of no after no piled up almost as high as my bills, I was forced to make a decision. As much as I dreaded it I began driving Uber everyday so I could scrape enough together to pay my bills. It was a temporary fix that lasted three long years as I floundered not realizing I was stuck in a financial and emotional crossroads and had no idea which way to go. I also was working at a golf course doing landscaping which sapped me of all my energy. My wife of only a year was my only haven as she tried to help me escape the inescapable path I was currently experiencing. We would exercise and she would encourage me to read and learn meditation as a way to change my inner state and decide what to do next.

It was now 2019 and my situation had only grown worse and my wife was reeling from the loss of her sister and her mother less that a year apart. It seemed my marriage would be the next loss that I would experience if things did not change soon. The debt and the doubt at this point to me seemed insurmountable. My wife decided in order for us to have any chance we needed to move from California to Waco Texas. At this point I was willing to try anything and three months later I found myself all alone in Waco Texas. I had driven out early to find my next opportunity not realizing that it would find me. After extensive searching the only job I could find was as a corrections officer in a juvenile prison, quite a long long way from my dream career which seemed dead at this point. Desperation is not a place you ever want to visit especially when depression is knocking at your door as well. The darkness I experienced in the first few weeks of taking that job could fill its own novel, but getting assaulted on the job and needing facial surgery on my 52nd birthday was very devastating to my ego. Even more devastating was the fact that I knew I could not quit that job and had to return just 5 weeks later due to my financial situation. The shifts were 12 hours long and I worked the 2pm to 2am shift until I got assaulted and when I returned I began working the 6pm to 6am shift because it was less time with the youths out of their cell and I wanted to be as safe as possible but it still remained dangerous. When the youth slept I brought books to read in between cell checks and also began meditating. This was when I realized I could only control myself and learned to let everything else go. My inner journey of books, imagination and spiritual discovery includes many books on mindset personal growth and universal truths. Some of my favorites include Neville Goddard, Joe Dispenza, David Goggins, and especially Michael Singer's book The Untethered Soul. The specifics of my transformation for now shall remain a mystery as I know now everyone must walk their life's journey alone and learn their own truths. My inner journey has led me to know implicitly that the most uncommon knowledge is that we are a divine spiritual being having a human experience. My journey has just begun but I am success; I am perseverence; I am love; and I will triumph in the end knowing that my imagination is God and I am creating in the moment timelessly and tirelessly. We all win in the end.... Staying conscious is key that unlocks the door to eternal awareness. The most uncommon knowledge is inside us all waiting to be seen, created and manifested from within.

recovery
Like

About the Creator

robert rowe

Starting again...anything is possible in my imagination......stay tuned

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.