Psyche logo

Im a Water Scryer

a practice passed down from my grandmother

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

Not many folks around here know about water scrying. I have done it for most of my life. It was taught to me by my grandmother. I always wanted to share my knowledge but I kept it to myself. Living in such a small town like Jellico, I was afraid of judgmental people. Water scrying has been considered by some as witchcraft. I want to explain that IT IS NOT! Water scrying is no different than ghost hunting or going to a psychic. I would even compare it to looking for shapes in the clouds. I guess it all really depends on how much you believe in these types of things.

Scrying can be the most relaxing thing that you'll ever do. It calms your mind and practically erases anxiety. Of course you have to be prepared for seeing something that you might not want to see. I wanted to share this story in hopes of explaining how scrying works. I wanted to share some of my best scrys and maybe teach a few people how to do it for themselves.

Scrying helps us to get in touch with our unconscious minds:

As such, it can be used as a powerful form of self-understanding and psychoanalysis. If you’re struggling to find direction, meaning or purpose in life, scrying could be a wonderful way to get in touch with your core needs, dreams and goals.

Usually, scrying is performed with the use of a reflective surface, such as a mirror or water. I prefer water, as did my grandmother because of it's relaxing quality.

First I want to show you some of my best scrys and then I'll explain to you how to do it for yourself.

Can you see the bird? I done this scry at the local park. I was sitting with my scry bowl and was desperately needing some inner peace. As I peered into the water the perfect image of a bird appeared. I sat beneath the trees and began watching and listening to the birds. A beautiful blue bird landed just in front of me. This was the brightest most beautiful bird I had ever laid eyes on. I watched him for a long time. At times I felt like the bird was starring directly at me while singing his amazing song. A peace came over me and the stress I had felt just melted away. I felt like the bird was sent to me after I asked for peace. The scry simply showed me what to look for.

Sometimes what you'll see in the water isn't always beautiful however it means something. The reflections you'll get always means something to you personally. Sometimes you might immediately know what it means. Sometimes you might have to do some soul searching to figure it out. Can you see the face in the scry above? The next morning I was informed that a dear friend had passed away. I believe that this was their spirit appearing in my scry trying to let me know. I can actually see facial features so clearly, it's still chilling for me to look at these photos.

In this one you can clearly see a hand. A week later my husband had an accident at his construction job severely injuring his hand. He had to have three operations to repair the damage to his hand. I believe that I was being warned by this scry. It was preparing me for what was going to happen.

I found an eye in this scry. But what kind of eye? It looks like a dog to me. I had been grieving over the loss of my dear dog Skipper who had been by my side for 15 years. Seeing this brought peace and comfort in knowing that he's still watching out for me.

What does this look like to you? At first I didn't know either. A few weeks later I went to the doctor and discovered that after 13 years of marriage, I was finally pregnant. 4 months along and didn't even know. After looking back on this photo, could it be a baby face? Similar to what you'd see on a ultrasound? I can see the eyes, nose and mouth.

How to scry for yourself

So by now I'm sure that you're either super interested or extremely judgmental about water scrying. No, these photos are in no way photoshopped. And yes, you have to have a very open mind and a imagination to see signs in the water. With practice and patience you'll be scrying every night because it can become addictive.

The Bowl

You'll need a good sized bowl, large enough for the images to manifest but not too large. A 6 inch bowl is the perfect size. It needs to be shiny with a reflective quality. A dark color such as black, dark blue or dark grey is best.

Center Point

The center point is an object that will be placed in the center of the bowl. You will keep your eyes trained on this object at all times. More advanced scryers use crystal stones. My grandmother used a giant marble which is what I now use as well. Go to your local arts and crafts and find yourself a pretty stone.

White candles

You'll need 1 or 2 white candles, these help the light reflect on the water. Scented candles are good, it doesn't matter as long as its white. On a really clear night, the moon is also very good for scrying. Let the moonlight reflect on your water.

How to Scry

Scrying is incredibly easy to do, it just takes practice. The objective is to “see” things in the water. First dim the lights in the room, and light some candles. It’s best if there are no bright lights because you want your physical eyes to take a backseat to your psychic sight.

Place your center object (stone, marble etc.) in the middle of the bowl. Fill the bowl to the rim with water.

Take a few minutes to get into a relaxed, meditative state. Take some slow, deep breaths and release all tension from your body. When you feel calm and centered, focus on the container of water.

Don’t try to rush the process, stay very relaxed and keep your eyes slightly out of focus while looking at the center object in your bowl. Don’t strain or try to force it. Let your thoughts flow where they will. If you wish, you can also communicate with your spirit guides, ask them questions, and then watch for any images that appear.

You might not see anything the first few times you do this, but keep at it, you will eventually. The more you practice scrying and related psychic work, the more quickly you can get into that relaxed state and notice even subtle impressions.

Deciphering Symbols

If you did see images, write them down. In fact, it’s a great idea to keep a “Scrying Journal” when you’re first getting started. It can help to keep records because the meaning of the symbols might become apparent later. Some people even take photos of the images in the water. Surprisingly this will help you later by looking back on the photos. Usually the photos come out blurry so be sure to take notes as well.

If you did ask your guides questions, jot them in your journal along with any images you saw. Do the images make any sense to you? Can they be applied to circumstances in your life? Even if you’re not sure on the “known” meaning of the symbols, you can still apply their characteristics to your own situation.

Here are a few examples:

Dog – dogs typically represent friendship and loyalty, or aggression (depending on whether the dog you saw was snarling or friendly). Does this refer to someone in your life, or the type of friend you are? Have you been “snapping” at people lately? It could also be a sign of enemies. This is why you need to take time to really think about what's happening in your life at the time.

Car – All vehicles usually represent travel, movement and progress. Was the car/boat/train moving backward or forward? Backward might indicate blockages, as do crashes. Most likely, seeing a car crash does not mean you will be in a car crash. It could mean you are stuck, unable to move forward in a particular aspect of your life, or you feel out of control.

Rainbow – rainbows are typically seen as a sign of hope, joy, peace, blessings, or a new beginning. If you are going through a particularly rough period in your life, this could be a sign that things are going to get better soon.

Faces are also common to see in scrying. It could be a spirit visiting you.

Don’t take the symbols literally, because most often they are symbolic. Instead, think about the qualities of whatever you’re seeing.

What words would you use to describe each symbol? Can any of those words be applied to you or your life at this moment? If not, just write them down and see if they come clearer in time.

Psychic Sense

Also pay attention to your psychic sense as you scry. When you see an image, how does it feel? That can be a good indication of the intended meaning. We all have some level of psychic senses. Allow yourself to tap into them and use them.

Don’t be afraid to ask your guides for help either. Tell them you don’t understand the meaning, and ask them to give you another symbol that you might understand more easily.

Water Scrying is harmless, easy and fun. There is nothing wrong or evil about it. Pre-Christian Celtic seers were believed to have visions when they looked upon dark water. Even in the 1500s, Nostradamus made notes about staring into a bowl of water by candlelight to gain inspiration. In England scrying classes and workshops are held is chapels.

If you enjoy ghost hunting, why not try scrying and look for spirits in the water. It's a common method used by some paranormal investigators. Have fun with it.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.