Psyche logo

I Choose to Dance With PTSD

And run with Matisyahu.

By Karen LichtmanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear Coach Bennet:

Thank you for teaching me that every run has a purpose. I totally agree with you. But could the key to becoming a stronger runner be...running less, not more? And a simple shifting of your tunes?

WEDNESDAY

• 8:15am = Meditation, light, hydration, shroom, tea brewing, discussion leading. Not THOSE kinds of shrooms. I haven't done those since college. I'm talking cordyceps Dude. Day 13, Finding the Key to Renewal. "Renewal is always possible. A cut finger heals. Tulips pop up in the spring. My choices uphold and support my life." 21 Day Meditation Experience, Hope in Uncertain Times.

"Hope is a state of mind, not of the world. Hope in this deep and powerful sense, is...an ability to work for something because it is good." --Vaclav Havel

• 8:43am = Tea ingested. Moved for the morning. Opened my window. Morning movement was a blend of tai chi, one pound hand weights, and iTunes shuffle. Later I did some home brewed karaoke for 25 minutes. During which I danced with my broom to Material Girl, and shot a music video, right here on my lap of luxury studio. I also managed to burn 168 calories.

• 10:23am = My stomach started growling. I popped and chewed a piece or two of crystallized ginger. WOOHA now THAT was some morning greeting. Then I prepared some actual food for myself.

• 12:32pm = Sid and Nancy, who live in the apartment above me, started arguing. LOUDLY! They had another bad one at 2:24pm. Things and stuff kept hitting their ground, my ceiling.

• My run this afternoon was inspired by the annual March of The Living, held annually between Auschwitz and Birkenau. The distance is 3.5 kilometers, or 2.2 miles. I chose to run this distance in Brooklyn, in memory of the family members, as well as their home towns, which have perished. And to honor my family members who survived. I am here to tell their stories. And carry on their names.

I didn't choose PTSD. But I chose to live with it. Dance with it. And run with it, not from it.

And wouldn't you know it. I decided to listen to "Matisyahu Radio" on Spotify. I was noticing just how beautiful the tulips and dandelions in the neighborhood were. And how much better today was, compared to yesterday afternoon's anxiety attack, which I think I handled well. And then right there, into my ears flew:

See everybody that's existing

Got a mind of their own

We're all Kings and Queens

With a throne of our own

Tryin' to raise a family

Is an empty home

We got to learn to stick together

Hate to be here alone

'Cause the world is a place

That will eat you alive in one day

Said the world is a place

That you can't survive without faith

Sometimes in my tears I drown

But I never let it get me down

So when negativity surrounds

I know someday it'll turn around

Because

All my life I've been waiting for

I've been [hoping] for

For the people to say

That we don't wanna fight no more wars

And our children will play

One day

--"One Day," Matisyahu

==================

• Thank you so much for reading to the bottom of this post. So many of you have been so kind to the words which I have written. I know this because of the tip money, which has been thrown into my virtual hat. Each and every Anonymous one of you. I respect you, honor you, and I am humbly grateful.

@CoachBennett

@HostDefense

@Oprah

@DepakChopra

@motlorg

@Matisyahu

@Spotify

@Woodstockfoods

ptsd
Like

About the Creator

Karen Lichtman

Plant based. Runner. Young widow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.