Psyche logo

How I survived being a Crackhead.

Now 2 years sober

By Shyanne CruzPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3

Hey everyone. So it’s fair to say I’m pretty new here. But something kept pushing me mentally, to just finally share MY story. I’m sure you’ve probably read lots of war stories, overcoming drugs and other life changing turn arounds. My hope is for someone who truly needs a boost or a little faith, comes across and reads this article and it lights a spark in their brain. Where do I even start? I was a simple woman for the most part, however my childhood was always filled with some underlined trauma. I had 3 beautiful kids, (now 4), I had my own place to live, I worked 2 really great jobs. One as an engineer and the other as a Hotel resort operator. It was December of 2017. I thought it’d be a good idea to move the kids and I back into my mothers home (I was a single mother at the time). I figured, this could be nice, the family all back together again, more time with mom right? WRONG. I felt empty still. I had everything, So why would I feel this way? I was always upset and aggravated if I had to chase the kids around the house for baths and dinner time and I was feeling overworked with my 2 jobs. I wouldn’t know by the end of that December, I was making the biggest worst decision of my life. I decided to hang out with an “old friend” from high school. I can’t believe I worked so hard just to invite stagnant people from the past back into my life. I never really made the best of choices, but this one takes the cake. Long story short, the friend was a male and he started exposing me to all of these substances I’ve never done. I’ve always smoked pot, drank occasionally. But this was different. I knew better, but the rush kept bothering me. He would shoot and snort cocaine and heroin in front of me saying “don’t do it” but at the same time trying to get me to do it... like “don’t do it” unless you can “handle” it. Me, being the trauma filled gullible Moron that I was, I let this guy inject me with a needle filled with cocaine and heroin. First coke then dope. I also tried crack along with the other drugs. I’m sure you can guess The next 6 months. By March of 2018, I had lost everything. My children, my family, my mom, my jobs. All of it. I couldn’t believe it right before my eyes. All because of drugs, after March I was begging people for money and doing things I should’ve never done for it. June 2018 I reached out to a friend I’ve actually met through the drug addict who got me hooked. He seemed level headed. No drugs. So I begged him for help, until he finally did. He spent over $2600+ on me, trying to get me places to live, supporting me with food and clothing. Everything. I would run away every week to do drugs while he would always try to stop me. On September 11th 2018, it would be my last time smoking crack and using drugs. The friend who helped save my life showed me a movie called Super. About a drug addicted girl who gets saved by her boyfriend who does plenty of Heroic things in the movie. I got clean after watching it. No rehab. No 12 step programs. No Narcotics Anonymous. Till this day, I will be exactly 2 years clean on September 11th, 2020. I don’t have it all together quite yet, but I’m still beyond blessed and grateful to be alive today, and to be sharing my story with you all. I also now have a beautiful 6 month old son. Another addition to my family. There is hope. Much Love. ❤️

addiction
3

About the Creator

Shyanne Cruz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.