Psyche logo

Five Ways to Positive

When Negativity Looms, Try The Little Things

By Alex PrangePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Five Ways to Positive
Photo by Miguel Luis on Unsplash

Negativity can seep its way into everyday life without warning. Traffic is moving too slow; the Internet went down; an itch that you've been scratching at is still bothering you days later; but, whatever may be happening it's important to remember that there's always ways to stay positive.

Some times I get into a funk myself, and I've realized that what may seem like a little thing can actually have a massive impact on my own mental health. So, here are five ways I stay positive even when negativity rears its ugly head:

1. Breathe-- Yes, breathe. The simple act of inhaling a deep breath, holding it for a second or two, and exhaling that breath can relax shoulders, the back, chest, arms, a gut. Breathing slows everything down. Breathing takes the focus from the negative and forces you to focus on the breaths themselves.

2. Staring At The Ceiling-- Odd? Possibly, yes, but nonetheless, staring at the ceiling with nothing blocking my vision does wonders. Is it simply a wide white space? Is it colored? Is there a roughness to the ceiling? Each second spent staring at the ceiling keeps my focus on the ceiling. The way it connects to the walls around me, the light above my head, and the way staring at nothing lets my mind go blank destroys whatever negative feeling I have at the moment. And, to be honest, this goes well with breathing.

3. Music-- This one may be something I have in common with a slew of people, but music is one way I drown out negativity. The vocals, the drums, the lead guitar, rhythm guitar, bass, and whatever else may be present in a song help clear my head because it's all I'm focused on. Music takes me away from whatever may be happening in the world and transports me into a realm of fantasy. When I close my eyes and just listen to any song with no distractions, or even when I'm driving, or cooking, or writing something, the way music seeps into my brain, makes me think, and connects with me calms my senses and my mind entirely.

4. Sleeping-- Getting enough sleep is energizing. When negativity looms over me, and I feel like I can't do anything productive or enjoyable, I may take a nap. It happens more often than I'd like to admit, but sleeping does wonders. It takes me away from the world and into my unconscious. I can't control that, I know, but either way, once I wake up I feel refreshed. Sleeping has been one of the best ways I have found to keep a positive bounce in my step. Anxiety crushing my thoughts? I'll nap and then when I wake, I'll feel different. I'll do something different, I'll listen to different music, or go eat some food.

5. Eating-- Food is fantastic. Food has a way of keeping my mind off everything else in the world. I'll make something hot like spaghetti or a steak if I have any, or chicken--or, if I'm feeling up for it, I'll eat chocolate or ice cream. Why? Because I can. Because food makes me feel better physically, and it makes me tired (especially if it's been a while since I've had any food.) After eating I may sleep (point 4) or I'll sit and watch television, or read. Whatever I feel like doing, eating usually starts the process, and it does wonders for my positivity.

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

These are just five simple things I do when negativity looms over my head and descends upon me. Are they for everyone? No, but they're some of the ways I help myself feel better. These five things are fairly simple for me, and I enjoy their simplicity. If falling asleep, or eating ice cream, or just sucking in a breath and exhaling that breath can help me regain some of the positive thoughts I have rolling around in my brain, why not try them?

advice
Like

About the Creator

Alex Prange

Hi, I'm Alex. I'm 29 and have a love for reading, writing, and travel. One thing I am open about is my battle with mental health: I suffer from severe anxiety and major depression, and reading has been the escape from my mind for years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.