Psyche logo

Empathy 101: A Beginner's Guide to Thrive as an Empath

Complete understanding to the sensitive side of your overall self.

By Silena Le BeauPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
2
Picture by: Pixabay

Life for the unknowing Empath can be extremely difficult to maneuver through when you're not educated to what's actually happening right in your own skin.

Have you been sensitive most of your life? Were you teased for being highly sensitive, and did you hate the way you were treated.

Highly Sensitive People or HSP is another term for Empath. The latter is the more positive connotation. Most Empaths, don't know they're empathic (sensitive to the outside world).

We Empaths have a tendency to grow up feeling misunderstood, which often leads to one eventually live a loner lifestyle early on.

Living in a world where you feel like you are not being your true self can be a struggle in itself, and can cause other issues to form within because of this torn feeling inside.

The Checklist and video below are excellent sources that will help to bring you clarity, as well as guide you to figuring out your next steps to take on your journey.

When I found this video on YouTube, my life improved. I was literally out of options, then I joined this channel and immediately my life began to make sense. Everything I've felt growing up as a child in a broken dysfunctional home had finally made sense. My self esteem issues, anxiety, panic attacks, and my own addictions had been explained in a way I could have never fathomed. Years of therapy hadn't taught me what I learned in this one video, so I knew there was a reason it was brought to my attention, because I was finally ready to heal! I advise those of you still struggling to get the help that this video gave me.

Tori R. 36 Redding, PA

Available in 10 colors!

Ultimate Empath Checklist

  • Are you prone to bouts of anxiety or depression?
  • Do you feel overwhelmed in crowded places such as the mall, movies, hospitals, and/or airports?
  • Are you drawn to helping, healing, and care-giving fields?
  • Were you sensitive to others' emotions as a child? (Authority figures)
  • Do you prefer to be out in nature, alone, or around animals instead of being around people?
  • Do you struggle with setting boundaries or saying No to people?
  • Do you tend to feel "sucked dry" by the people in your life?
  • Does your mood seemingly vary at random (getting sad or angry for no apparent reason)?
  • Can you feel what other people are feeling, as if it's also happening to you?
  • Do you generally have a need for solitude?
  • Do your nerves get frayed by noise, smells, and overly excessive talkers?
  • Do you have a hard time falling asleep before midnight, or do you procrastinate before going to bed?
  • Can you feel the presence of sprits.
  • Are you affected by bright lights and bad smells (often causing nausea)?
  • Do you have love for trees, the ocean, and the mountains.
  • Do you give 110 percent in relationships whether platonic or romantic, and stay longer than necessary when it's evident that it's not being reciprocated?

Some people may lack empathy, but can regain their natural birth right. You may notice your child or loved one who seems to be non-empathic.

There are games and ways online to enhance empathy skills, and heal any past trauma, hurt, loneliness and feelings of abandonment (missing parent, addiction etc). If they feel these things it is your job to listen without judgement and accept "their truth!"

As an Empath it's hard enough to even speak up on their feelings when they feel uncomfortable. Give them the space to express freely.

Available in six colors!

Learn to overcome the tired, drained feeling from picking up negative energy by shielding and grounding yourself to protect your energy and live in peace!

Raise children who are not wounded and don't have to recover from their childhoods!

I have never been so excited in my life to see what the future holds. This E-course taught me how to heal from my battle with depression, handle a narcissist mom's abuse, struggles with stress and addiction, feelings of detachment and figuring out my life purpose. I highly recommend it to everyone of my friends and family because it literally saved my life! And I love that I can refer back to it whenever I need a refresher course since it's mines for a lifetime!

Amy, Silver Los Angeles, California

Available in all sizes!

Available in five colors.

Sign up TODAY to instantly get 20 percent of your first 3 orders using CODE- FIRST3

advice
2

About the Creator

Silena Le Beau

She expresses her gift of writing through each piece. She studied writing in college and has been inspiring people for 20 years. She gives back to the community & enriches them with enlightenment. Philanthropist, Empath and Nature lover.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.