Psyche logo

Drugs & Alcohol

Keep.Pushing.Forward.

By Charles SmithPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
4

If you need to hear this, then you'll read it...But you won't know that you need to read this until you're done reading it all... high five✋

It's been on my mind for YEARS now and after posting the decade challenge thing or whatever whatever** with me holding a beer and using eyeliner (to disguise who I really was, a topic for another time)

I took part in underage drinking and binge drinking well into my mid 20's and have even consumed alcohol with the intention of getting drunk even up to recent months. (I don't see that as terrible, but at the very least.... "unnecessary") *what is "necessary" 😉

*These thoughts and opinions may not align with yours, but I invite you to set your conditionings aside for the remainder of this post, ok cool.

I think of the (unspoken) direction I was given as a child, and how that may have influenced my decision to drink or accept it as a reasonable way to deal with pain or discomfort. And how prevalent the words "oh they're just kids having a good time" or "oh we did it as kids too" or "it's just a phase"

AT WHAT FUCKING POINT are we gonna say hey kiddos, you're gonna be running this "thing" one day... we need your minds learning and evolving for the better, not decaying. (break the cycle, I know TOO MANY people hurting out here)

DRINKING AND DANCING at Replay in Lawrence were like my all-time favorite things to do. (throw in a little cocaine or molly and it was even better!)

at some point during all of this behavior, I came to understand what the drugs and alcohol were doing for me... they were

***inhibiting my perception of other people's opinions***

(I used to straight CRUSH on the dance floor!)

Anyway, what I'm trying to say is that, and I know I'm jumping around a lot but

SUBSTANCE ABUSE IS NOT THE ANSWER!

there are other ways of dealing with (being ok with who you are!!) and ultimately LOVING WHO YOU ARE!

We long for acceptance at some level and I know it can be hard to find when we're younger. (parents, idk what it's like to parent... but please understand your responsibilities when raising) ***financial burdens are a huge factor, along with many others... I know its not the easiest)

I know it can be scary to say "I have a problem" or

"I need help" or to even think about stepping beyond boundaries so well know... let alone

TRYING... DAY AFTER DAY

it's hard until its easy folks.

Life should be worth living.

Ask for help if you're not feeling as though it is.

*Due to the overwhelming response/addictive behavior shown towards my shirtless pics one will be added here with hopes of more engagement and greater reach.

sex sells, use it to OUR advantage... *collateral damage in a way...

addiction
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.