Psyche logo

Don't speak.

High school changed forever.

By Lexi NicolePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

At the time, I thought it was alright. I thought I was the one for you as you to me. Then my worst nightmare happened. My world went from bright to dark over a course of 4 years. I never believed you would actually hurt me until one day you looked at me as if I were nothing to you... The look in your eyes scared me and when I ran you grabbed me and asked "Where are you going?" and I passed out. That's how hard you hit me. The next day at school you acted like nothing happened but how can I? How am I able to just smile and be fine with knowing you hit me and constantly thinking when it's going to happen again. I was so scared and eventually it was like clockwork being with you. I wrote down in my diary how often you would hit me and honestly it could make a book along with a sequel.

Over time I began to think of it as normal. I kept believing in the back of my head everything is going to change for the better or at least lighten up a bit, but that was too much to wish for. The bites, scratch marks, and bruises were hard to cover up with make-up but you didn't care. You kept on and on and saying I wasn't perfect but yet I was loyal to you and you? You cheated on me with another girl named Victoria but I never saw a bruise on her. So why me? Why wasn't I ever good enough. I tried so hard to make you content. I made you food, I washed your clothes, I drove you to places but i was the dumb one to ever do this crap for you. I stood up to you and ended up with a broken rib and a busted lip. Our friends asked what happened and I had to fake that I was in a minor car accident. This was continuous and I had had enough.

March 3rd, 2014 I asked Victoria if you ever hit her and she said no, but then she regretted her answer then because it only clarified that you were indeed with her. I smiled at her and said "You're lucky" and then I felt fear because I saw you looking at me from the balcony. That night was one of the worst beatings you ever gave me. I had bruises from head to toe, but you didn't hit my face this time. Why? Was it so you didn't leave a mark? Or was it because you didn't want anyone to know that you secretly beat me.

I put up with you for the next two years but I know mentally I couldn't handle it because after the miscarriage I wanted to die. I no longer felt strong enough to take you on... Weeks went by along with the different phases of the bruises. I can't tell you the pain and trauma I went through. My close friends asked me why I never told anyone and I was mostly afraid of you. Finally June 8th, 2016 came around and that was the day we walked the staged and when you smiled at me I smiled back because that was the last day I ever saw you. I was relieved that I was able to escape you and not have to face you again. Thankfully I've never had to see your face again.

Ladies, if you or a loved one is in this type of domestic violence please report to someone... No one ever noticed or helped me so I'm saying if you are able to save someone's life, do it.

trauma
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.