Psyche logo

Dialectical Behavior Therapy

Learn through story

By Faiqa RukhsarPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Like

Client:

Arrives at Hospital/Clinic

Psychologist:

I'm so happy you're here. I understand that this is a trying time for you but I'm here to support you.

Client:

Yes I'm really struggling. I feel like my emotional control is slipping away.

Psychologist:

I get it. Well DBT is centred around that. It is a form of treatment that teaches individuals effective methods for controlling their emotions.

Client:

How does it work?

Psychologist:

Dialectics is the foundation of DBT. In other words it's about striking a balance between two competing forces. The two conflicting factors in DBT are acceptance and change.

Client:

Acceptance? But I'm not interested in accepting my feelings. I just wish to change them.

Psychologist:

I get it. But the reality is that you cannot control your emotions. They are only a part of your identity. But you can discover a healthy technique to control them and that's what DBT is for.

Client:

I see. So how does it work?

Psychologist:

DBT is a four-part treatment programme. The first phase is referred to as Mindfullness. It refers to developing the ability to observe your thoughts and feelings without passing judgement.

The second phase is referred to as Distress Tolerance. It's goal is learning to manage challenging emotions without turning to self-destructive behaviours.

The third phase is referred to as Interpersonal Effectiveness. It involves learning appropriate ways to express your needs.

The fourth phase is referred to as Emotion Regulation. It refers to learning appropriate ways to manage your emotions.

Client:

It sounds like a lot.

Psychologist:

It is But it's also quite efficient.

Client:

Okay I'm willing to try anything.

Psychologist:

I'm glad to hear that. I think you're going to do great.

The woman continued with DBT therapy for several months. She learned how to manage her emotions in a healthy way and she began to feel more in control of her life. She was able to stop self-harming and she began to build healthy relationships.

Few months later

Client:

DBT saved my life. I don't know what I would have done without it.

DBT is a powerful therapy that can help people with a variety of mental health conditions including borderline personality disorder eating disorders and substance abuse. DBT teaches people skills to manage their emotion cope with stress and build healthy relationships. If you are struggling with your emotions. I encourage you to seek out a DBT therapist. It could be the best decision you ever make.

Here are some of the benefits of DBT:

Reduces emotional dysregulation: DBT teaches people skills to manage their emotions in a healthy way. This can help people to feel less overwhelmed by their emotions and to respond to them in a more constructive way.

Improves coping skills: DBT teaches people skills to cope with stress and difficult emotions. This can help people to feel more in control of their lives and to reduce the impact of stress on their mental health.

Builds healthy relationships: DBT teaches people skills to build and maintain healthy relationships. This can help people to feel more connected to others and to get the support they need.

therapy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.