Psyche logo

Depression Explained Using the MCU

Why "Just Get Over It" doesn't work.

By Anthony HallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Depression Explained Using the MCU
Photo by Gabriel on Unsplash

Before we start, I'd like to make two side notes. First, this article is based entirely on my personal experience with depression. Second, my personal experience with depression goes back about 6 years when I was first diagnosed with depression after leaving the military. That being said, let's get to the subject, shall we?

Like I said in the opening, I've been dealing with depression for about 6 years now. Lately, my depression has been kicking my rear on almost a daily basis. It's been the worst it's ever been since I was first diagnosed due to personal issues.

Looking around online, I've seen different posts on FaceBook and tweets from Twitter showing that some people still don't understand what depression actually is. Seeing this, I tried to figure out a way to explain exactly why phrases like "Just get over it" or "Just feel better" don't actually work. Then it hit me. The Marvel Cinematic Universe.

By Fredrick john on Unsplash

The Marvel movies are very well-known in pop culture. Even though they originated from a source material that a lot of people aren't familiar with, people still know names like Thor and Iron Man. Since people seem to understand the comics a lot better because of these movies, I wanted to use them to explain to people what dealing with depression on a daily basis is like.

By ANIRUDH on Unsplash

Those familiar with the Thor and Avengers movies will recognize Thor's weapon of choice, Mjölnir. Thor's hammer is a mainstay in the movies and the comics. It is a magical weapon with great abilities, chief among those the ability to generate and redirect lightning. The main part of the hammer I want to focus on, however, isn't one of its abilities. It's one of the restrictions of this godly weapon.

When Odin, Thor's father, banished him to Earth in the first movie, he placed an enchantment on his son's weapon before casting it out of Asgard as well. "Whosoever holds this hammer, if he be worthy, shall possess the power of Thor." Why is this important, you ask? And what does this have to do with depression? Enter Avengers: Age Of Ultron.

Everyone of the Avengers, try as they might, are not able to lift Thor's hammer regardless of the amount of effort they put in to it. Then, Thor just comes over, lifts Mjolnir off the table and flips it with the greatest of ease. Mjolnir doesn't move except when someone worthy of its power is holding it. Mjolnir, in this instance, is someone's depression. Within someone's personal Mjolnir is the ability, energy and motivation to complete a particular task they set their minds to. However, in order to even start the task, they have to be able to lift the hammer.

My point is when it comes to depression, sometimes you're Thor and sometimes you're not. No amount of cheap affirmations or "Just pull" is going to get someone to lift their hammer. Telling someone to "Get over it" is like telling someone "Just lift the hammer." Try as they might, it's not going to work. You also can't lift someone else's hammer for them. The only thing you can do is be there for them while they feel unworthy until they are.

I've had days where all I wanted to do was write just a page of something, make headway on some of my projects. But I just couldn't lift my hammer. I couldn't get the energy despite the medication I was on that was trying to help. I've had relatives ask what they can do but I knew there was nothing they could do. You have to be able to lift your own hammer. You have to feel and be worthy in order to fight against the weight of your depression.

So, if you gain any understanding from this article, take this away with you. Remember the phrase "Somedays, you're Thor. Somedays, you're not."

depression
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.