Psyche logo

Coping With Panic Attacks

Advice From Someone Who Frequently Experiences Panic Attacks; Not to Be Taken as Professional Advice or Substituted for It

By Ayesha JavedPublished 6 years ago 8 min read
Like

As someone who has frequent panic attacks I am always in need for ways to deal with them and, when I’m going through one, lead them to conclusion. I live alone and helping myself through and out of one lies pretty much on me, myself. Through this I have learned of ways to deal with panic attacks if one lives alone or has one without someone to help around. This bank of knowledge has been accumulated from advice I’ve been given by professionals, things I’ve seen on TV, information I’ve gathered through self-help guides, or by my own experiences.

These are some of the tricks that I have learned. Sometimes one might help while the other might not. You have to listen to your body. I will give tips on identifying an onset of panic attack and how to prevent one from happening. For the cases where it has started, I’ll talk about some methods I’ve learned to phase out the symptoms. Also, I’ll share what can be done in order to bring your body to normalcy after having a panic attack.

People with anxiety disorder are more prone to panic attacks but in reality anyone can have one. It’s just that people who have the aforementioned disorder tend to experience it, at varying degrees, more often.

Let me take this moment to officially state though that whatever I state here is in no way a professional claim and just what someone who experiences panic attacks can advise. It may not even apply to you. It might help you. I cannot make assurances in any way. Though I do believe that I have experienced the very issue aplenty. During my worst days there would be times I would have 5-7 panic attacks in one day. Though that was exhausting, I have become better at coping. Anxiety is mostly paired with other mental health issues. Since my case was paired with depression, I shall address to that case specifically. That being said, I feel that my advice could possibly help anyone having a panic attack.

How to Recognise a Panic Attack Coming on

There is a specific pattern that can be noticed, from my experience, before the onset of a panic attack. Yes! I am quite aware that it is a common belief that panic attacks are very sudden and come without any symptoms. This is just my observation. This pattern, as I call it, might just be unique to me but in case it isn’t, I shall continue on identifying it. It is one that is vague. So, I’ll try my level best in trying to elaborate on it. You start to feel a lack of energy. It is profound in some cases and in others merely a hindrance in what you’re going about. The lack of energy is followed by a sense of weight on your lungs increasing. You might start to tax with each breath. If you feel a sensation radiate from the centre of your chest to the mid of your stomach then that’s probably a sign too. This explanation might be confusing and not very scientific but still apt. You might then start to feel your heartbeat within your chest, right above your jugular, and in your fingertips. Your body might start to be become heavy as well. Pins and needles might be felt in the fingers and toes. At this point it is not likely that you have gone into hyperventilation but you probably are about to.

Things to Do to Prevent a Panic Attack From Happening

I will talk about multiple things you can do to prevent a panic attack. The application depends on how quickly does your body tell you that you are about to hyperventilate. If you are just about to start hyperventilating the sigs will be more intense.

If you have a minute or two, and have the energy, to gather your thoughts, focus on the word HALT. Ask yourself whether you are hungry, angry, lonely, or tired. This trick I learned from watching a show I cannot quite remember at the moment. Trust me, it has helped. Anxiety can be aggravated in all four cases. If you can identify one or more of them, ask what you can do to eliminate that feeling. If you’re hungry, eat. If you’re angry, find some distraction. If you’re lonely, call someone you feel comfortable with. If you’re tired, lie down in a dark room and close your eyes. Deal with the immediate trigger.

Another thing you can do is to calm the surrounding environment. This might be more helpful if your source of anxiety is from something that you cannot control. Remove yourself from loud sounds and find a quiet place. Turn off the light and play slow paced music, but again not too loud. It can be of whatever genre you want it, just has to have a slow tempo. Burn a candle. This might sound like a cliche but it will work. If it’s scented it’ll be better. Lie down on your back on a hard surface and place the candle such that it shines light at the ceiling right above you. Now slowly focus all your attention on your breathing. Focus on your stomach move near and far from the surface under you. Breath normally for a bit and then start to count once after every exhale, and take a little pause when you count.

If you are in circumstances where you cannot do this, for example in the middle of a gathering, then find a secluded place. Maybe go to a bathroom or go find a corner of a street. Place your hands against a wall and put your knees on the floor. Place your head between your hands and loudly exhale and inhale. Focus on your breath and the way it moves your diaphragm.

Another quick trick I’ve learned is to step into a shower and sit under it. It sounds very weird but there is something very comforting in doing that. Especially once your hugging your knees while warm water falls over your entire body, it helps when not much does. Another trick I use, put on your favourite series on your phone or laptop and place it where you can see it from. Then again, this isn’t a tip that can be used at any time. In case you cannot do this, then another way would be to find a bathroom. Once you have, put your hands under warm water and bend your head down, just a bit. Then breath through your mouth while the water runs over your hands. Some of these tips might feel very vague but trust me, they might help.

What to Do Once the Panic Attack Has Started

Here I’m referring to when your heart starts racing and you start hyperventilating. In such a case there is only one thing you can do is to go through it. There are somethings you can to shorten a panic attack. If you’re someone who has frequent panic attacks then you will have to make yourself conscious of what you can do while having a panic attack beforehand. This is because it’s very hard to do much, or even remember, when you’re hyperventilating that way. In some cases your jaw might lock. If that happens what you have to do first, I’ve learned, is to try and force your jaw out of the sudden lock it feels it’s in. It is the hardest thing but you have to force normal movement back into it. If you experiences heaviness in your legs during your panic attacks then don’t force them to carry your weight. The best thing to do would be to lie down.

If this is not the case and you’re only hyperventilating then there are several things you can do. If you are lying then try to move your hands around and narrate what you feel. At first, you might not be able to say the words out loud. Still, narrate in your mind. “I feel the ground.” “I feel the ground is cold/gritty/rough.” “I feel marble under me/I feel grass under me”. Look at the ceiling and try to narrate what you see. “I am looking at the ceiling/sky.” If you are standing up then name five things you see around you. Whether you do this out loud or in your mind doesn’t matter. You have to start doing it. Name five things you hear. Name five things you see. Try to touch things and make yourself realise the physical reality around you.

In case you are starting to have the feeling that you are dying you have to tell yourself otherwise. “You are not dying.” “You are not dying.” “You are not dying.” Keep repeating this to yourself. Tell yourself that you have gotten through worse and made it just fine on the other end. Tell yourself that you will make it through this do. This is not the end of you. This will not end you. Repeat these things because, as someone who goes through panic attacks, you have to fight all the thoughts of death that might accompany the hyperventilation.

What to Do After a Panic Attack

Again, this is just what I advise as someone who goes through panic attacks a lot. There isn't much that I do after mine. It is very exhausting to have one so I tend to either sit down or, even better, lie down, depending on where I am when I've had the panic attack. It really helps to drink some water and have something sweet. Best would be to have a glass of some juice. It really helps your body recover the lack of energy.

panic attacks
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.