Psyche logo

Being Bipolar: Now in Color

1: The First Day of Forever

By Olivia BulnesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Being Bipolar: Now in Color
Photo by Moritz Kindler on Unsplash

Hey Reader, what’s up! Life is Awesome! Today I woke up and was like, "For real? I’m alive and it's my birthday!" I just turned 30 something years old today! June 26, 2020! I lived to do so many things even just today. Not things that might have seemed to matter so much individually but made all the difference in the big picture. Like many other things in life.

For example, I took a breath in, and took a breath out. Repeat. I got up out of a warm bed. I drank fresh clean cool water. I took my readily available meds at my location. Most important, I have a heartbeat! I got it down! I have a hope to live a whole lot longer so that I can enjoy life to the fullest. Live. Be happy. Repeat. This is my current goal. To live life, not just survive, but let us talk a little more.

Ok, so I want to thank you for reading this far. You are awesome and brave to enter this journey with me. To start, I want to let you know that I write for one important reason. I want the world to know what life was like in my shoes, and the shoes of others who have been through what I go through every day. Without voices to speak up, the journey is forever unknown and misjudged. Life is hard enough already. Why are we going to treat those who are different with anger, hatred, disgust, or any other prejudice? By the way, if you have never faced any of these in at least a minor way, you are lucky or lying.

I have so much to say, and so little time to share it. Every second past is a second lost? All I want to do, is tell my side of the story and help others who follow in my footsteps or speak up for those who have gone much further ahead in a similar journey to say what was never said. Never give up, never give in, fight for Justice and you will always win. That is something we say in my graphic novel, my other project, currently in progress. Still, I believe in it with all my heart. We never know what is going to happen even in the next second of our lives. Always fight for what you believe in, as for me, it’s truth. I know it sounds corny and impossible, but you might be surprised if you give it a try. If you are bored by now, its ok, it gets way more exciting later, at least I think so.

"Backstreets back Alright!" Sorry ya'll I heard it on my phone, and I couldn't hold it in any longer. It’s a great song if you grew up in the 90’s and were a teenage girl. Believe me I was a 90’s girl. I know it might be questionable whether this is a good song, but I don't really care, I love it, and most music in general. It has been a life saver on some occasions.

You know, I have always wondered what it was like. What it was like for one day. Just one day, to be normal. What would it be like to not have to deal with my illnesses, any of them? I spent most of my life wondering this. I can only tell you one thing now. I still wonder, but I have also come to enjoy life. I will leave this here for now, when I get back, we will get serious for a minute. Bipolar is serious, but there is so much to talk about. Not now, but soon. I'll be back Backstreet.

bipolar
Like

About the Creator

Olivia Bulnes

There is nothing more amazing than telling a story. Than giving something of yourself to make others happy, even for a moment. I hope to tell stories for life, and help others leave this crazy world behind. Let me tell you a story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.