Psyche logo

Back to life

long covid, the next chapter

By ASHLEY SMITHPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

After six months of not being fit to work, I begin to crawl out from covid next week. I am by no means fit or cured but well enough to try. The mental strain plus the financial one means its time to try again. I have to prove to myself that I can still do the job, especially as I am a frontline carer for disabled adults. I have to keep them happy and healthy as well as look after myself.

My symptoms began at the end of November and were confirmed after a test soon after. Even then I was looking forward to spending Christmas at work with the residents as they love the food and celebrations. That became hope for new year and hop for Easter, now just about going to make early summer.

The first symptoms were a temperature and a dry cough. Within a few days it was joined by chest pain, shortness of breath, lethargy and some temperature spikes. The cough and over heating went in a few weeks but the rest decided they liked me enough to hang around.

Initially I was told I couldn't have the vaccine while still ill, luckily this ruling changed and I had the jab 4 weeks ago. Wither by coincidence or miracle of the vaccine many things improved. The chest pain is as bad as ever but is controlled by strong pain killers, the breathlessness appears occasionally but otherwise I think I am nearly there.

The long covid effects basically arrived and then remained as they were for 5 months. The pain, the breathlessness and the fatigue stayed the same. It wasn't till the vaccine that much changed at all. That was one of the things that got to me most I think. I wanted to get better or get to the stage of medical intervention to hopefully get cured. Instead I was in the wilderness in between.

I had blood tests, x-rays and heart scans in case anything was wrong but all were clear. Obviously clear is good but it doesn't help with getting a diagnosis or a cure. The problem is nobody knows enough to do very much unless you become seriously ill. The many with long covid have advice and suggestions but little else.

Its understandable that experts are still learning but frustrating as well. The time taken to create a vaccine is incredible, the people avoiding it will hopefully finally realise how safe it is. What I have gone through is typical for thousands of people, add the thousands who have died and taking the cure is a no brainer dilemma.

The idiots who still believe covid as just a bad cold or something equally innocent are upsetting. I want to scream in their faces how mad the things they say are. I am ill still but need to work, there are many still to ill to work. Many will need far longer to recover, while some wont ever recover due to permanent damage.

For my own sake I will remain careful and will take this virus seriously, even once I have had both jabs. I will continue to wear a mask at work and in the local area, I will keep following distance advice and hygiene advice long after the government says I don't need too. My head couldn't take being ill again, couldn't do another 6 months of being unable to do housework or walk more then 200 yards.

I will beat this eventually and hopefully come out of this stronger then when I went in. Equally if the constant pain is due to permanent damage I will learn to cope. I will overcome.

anxiety
Like

About the Creator

ASHLEY SMITH

England based carer, live with my wife, her parents and 4 cats. will write for all areas but especially mental health and disability. though as stuff for filthy seems popular will try there . any comments, suggestions or requests considered

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.