Psyche logo

Are You a Dragon or a Candle?

Fire Up The Corner Where You Are

By Judey Kalchik Published 3 years ago 3 min read
17
Are You a Dragon or a Candle?
Photo by Jack Robinson on Unsplash

At least three times a day I have to make a choice about what kind of spark I'm willing to be: Will I be a fire or will I be a candle?

Will I roar and rage? Will I blast and scorch? Behave like a seething Smaug and snarling-ly snort embers and steam?

Or will I take the controlled route? Light a path? Banish the foggy confusion around me? Gentle welcoming light put to good use?

It's not easy to reign in a dragon. You need to be prepared, to know the signs of the dragon’s approach then make the right choice, the choice that diverts destruction and pain. Many times in my life I have not made the right choice and instead of providing illumination to a situation I brought the dragon's flames.

I was not a patient mother. As my frustration and panic at watching my marriage and plans for the future dissolve grew to a fever, my daughters bore the harsh fire of my fear.

Not with golden talons but with flinted words and unpredictable emotions I swept and tore through the house, terrified that disorder and non-perfection would be the straw that broke the tenuous peace in our home.

I taught aloud that they should always do their very best, and then became the judge and jury, deciding where that level fell and holding them accountable to achieve it.

Raised to count to 10 when my exasperation rose, I would make it to three, maybe four on a good day. Then WHOOOOOSH- up in flames. And singeing the spirit of those around me.

By Andy Watkins on Unsplash

What changed?

Well- agreeing not to fight to keep the sputtering heat of the marriage alive was a start. Counseling helped. Low-dose Prozac. (Funny. I still feel the need to describe it as 'low dose'. Like it hardly matters. Trivial. Like I take it just in case it helps. As if there is shame in treating a chemical imbalance. Deliberate distance established.)

Throwing myself into work. Learning to trust again. Re-creating myself.

I didn't learn self-control as a child. I learned to tamp down emotions, but not to manage them. Learned to swallow the anger and fear, not to resolve the issue. Learned that LOUD VOLUME got you heard, and silent watchfulness kept you safe.

These skills do not serve you well in a career. These skills are not those taught in corporate conflict management courses. These tenets are not found in best-selling self-help books. I've self-taught whatever emotional control I may possess as an adult. And I've learned it later in life than I should.

Some skills I've acquired by my old stand-by: watching others. I see them breathe deeply and exhale, then speak in a carefully modulated tone. I've imitated the control other demonstrate, and have learned ways to work through my fires without burning my surroundings. More days than not I am able to light the steady guidance of the candle's light and not provoke the dragon to seething, flames, and smoke.

By Marc Ignacio on Unsplash

Daily, I deliberately remember that 'we take the high road'. That I have been here before and I will be here again. That the satisfaction of a biting comment is short-lived and that trust is not easily regained once broken. That my skin in thicker than it seems, and that other people may be fighting their own demons of fear and insecurity.

Peace and warmth come from fire just as can fear and white-hot rage. It's up to me what I will allow to emerge from my spark. It starts with me.

If this warmed you please click on the heart below to let me know.

I have other stories, including a few others with fire:

selfcare
17

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    This is a very engaging piece 🥰

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Yes, what Rachel said below, bottling up everything just awaits the time to spit the dragon fire. I too learned as I went, self-taught a lot. I see your story and raise you a few more. Hearted and felt.

  • Rachel Robbins5 months ago

    I related so hard to this paragraph: I didn't learn self-control as a child. I learned to tamp down emotions, but not to manage them. Learned to swallow the anger and fear, not to resolve the issue. Learned that LOUD VOLUME got you heard, and silent watchfulness kept you safe.

  • Raymond G. Taylor5 months ago

    Loved the elemental approach and the fire in the belly. Thanks for sharing.

  • J. Delaney-Howe5 months ago

    Sometimes the universe aligns, and you receive a sign or a confirmation. I needed to read this today. Thank you for sharing it. I relate to it so well.

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    This could have been about me. When I was younger, I raged like a fire a lot; now that I am older and on Abilify, I don't rage so much.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.