Psyche logo

Anxiety-The Second Time Around

taking care of myself one day at a time

By Alejandra Mora HendlerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
15
Anxiety-The Second Time Around
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

I was diagnosed with clinical depression and generalized anxiety disorder in my early 20s. I’d been dealing with the aftermath of trauma and then infidelity in my long term relationship sent me over the edge.

Well, medication helped, it came and went and did its job. Yet the memories of those times stayed with me and I grew older always wondering if a panic attack was around the corner or if I’d wake again in that cloud of depression.

By little plant on Unsplash

Fast forward 20 years and here I am, with anxiety again, for a variety of reasons. But there it is, that familiar heart race, the impending doom, the breathing exercises, the bad dreams and the tears that fall when you least expect it.

But now I am toying with either choosing the medication route again or perhaps trying alternative methods.

I lean toward the latter.

I am curious to see if something else works and this is just my opinion for myself. I advocate for medication if and when it is necessary for myself or anyone.

So, acupuncture was my therapist’s suggestion, but i don’t know, needles? All over my body...what if there’s an earthquake? Ok that’s far fetched but can you sense my fear?

By Katherine Hanlon on Unsplash

I bet it works but it’ll take me a minute to research and wrap my head around it and better to do something that doesn’t scare me and will just make me more anxious anyway right?

I am leaning toward regular massage which is always relaxing. Yet doesn’t that always feel like a luxury? Massages are what you get on a beach in Aruba with a friend or on a cruise where you splurged for the spa package while your kid is busy playing in the game room with the teen group.

By Adrian Motroc on Unsplash

But massages on a regular basis, am I the Queen?

Why do I feel like I don’t deserve, no-require a monthly spa trip for a necessary massage?

Yes, I think that is my choice. Bring it on. Because all life’s problems should be solved by some stranger pounding away at your muscles until they’re jelly.

Yes bring on the jelly.

By Joe Caione on Unsplash

Meditation was the next suggestion and this I tried. I meditated in the only private place I could find, at home, in the bathroom.

By Bence Balla-Schottner on Unsplash

I sat and listened to the soothing voice lull me into a place far in my mind that was almost a nap but not really, or at least it shouldn’t have been.

I will try it again though to make sure.

By Dingzeyu Li on Unsplash

My point is mental health is not easy. It comes and it goes, it’s difficult some days, manageable others, and we really and truly have to care for ourselves. We must do this for survival, so we can make it to the next day, to the child that needs us, to the family that awaits and for ourselves too.

I have all these hobbies too...and I suggest these and many more, whatever you need for you. Here are mine...

Make candles, check.

those are real dried flowers 🌸

Build little dollhouse rooms, check.

it’s crazy how satisfying this is

Bake, check.

cookies cake pie-bake it all

And finally...

Find vintage hardcover fiction novels and take aesthetic photos for social media-

uh...sure, i mean check!

My point is, do whatever you need to, to get through it because no one knows better than you about your own experience with how difficult and challenging mental health can be.

Let’s give ourselves a break when we can, and let absolutely no one judge how you choose to do that.

Sending love ❤️

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

anxiety
15

About the Creator

Alejandra Mora Hendler

Mother, wife & author. My poetry chapbooks and novella are on amazon. A free chapter of the novella is right here on vocal, and my new book Jasper & Sunny will be released here first one chapter at a time!

www.alejandramorahendler.com

Hugs!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.