Psyche logo

ADHD and Me

What Makes Me Unique

By Tyler C ClarkPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
ADHD and Me
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

My Journey with ADHD

People with atypical neurology often find themselves not knowing where they fit in society. From an early age, people with ADHD find themselves at odds with an educational system that forces them to sit down and focus for hours on end. Once a child gets home from school, they are expected to sit down and focus even longer on their homework. These tasks feel directly counter-intuitive to the way their mind works. For a child with ADHD, it can feel as though the institutions they must participate in are specifically designed to work against them; a round peg being forced into a square hole.

The discomfort of living with ADHD only grows as one gets older. The effort required of a child increases, and the patience of teachers and parents decreases. The criticism, confusion, and frustration of others become a heavy burden. Sometimes the child pushes back, lashing out at the world. Sometimes the child internalizes the criticism, confusion, and frustration of their teachers and parents, creating a self-loathing belief that there is something wrong with them. Anxiety, depression, and unhealthy coping mechanisms follow shortly behind.

This is what happened to me. As a child, frustrated adults snapped at me countless times, saying things like “Tyler, focus!” or “Why can’t you just pay attention?” Their words implied that prolonged focus and attention are simple and easy tasks. By not doing them, I was either lazy, stupid, insubordinate, or all of the above.

The sad truth is that society would often rather force a unique individual to change rather than accommodate them. This is just as true about the education system as it is about the professional world. Society is generally not structured to accommodate many outliers.

ADHD has colored all of my experiences. It affects the way I think. It affects the way I learn. It affects the way I communicate. I’ve been fired from several jobs, and in every case I could point to ADHD as a primary factor of my job performance. Now I’m a 33 year old man with no job and a mountain of student debt. What should I do?

The bright side is that while society at large doesn’t accommodate many outliers, the pendulum also swings the opposite way. It is not the cookie-cutter conformist who innovates, pushes boundaries, and inspires change. It is the outlier, the atypical thinker, and the rebel who do these things.

Career Happiness Formula

After doing a mountain of research, and learning from my mistakes, this is a list of tips I've put together to help myself keep track of the kind of person I want to be. If you are someone with ADHD, maybe it can help you too.

  • Follow your passions
  • Harness your strengths & create workarounds to your weaknesses
  • Job qualities that help: Variety, Creativity and Problem Solving, A Sense of Purpose, Continual Learning, and Movement and Independence
  • Job qualities that DO NOT help: Office Politics, Paperwork, Noisy Coworkers
  • Do what you love!

Conclusion

I genuinely love the way my mind works. I love how creative I am. I love that my mind will snatch ideas out of thin air like fish from a stream. I love that I can spend hours brainstorming and exploring things that excite me. I can honestly say that I wouldn’t change the way my mind works even if I could. If I had the power to change anything, it would be the world around me. I’d change my environment to better suit me—not the other way around. But it took a very long time to arrive at a place of love and compassion for myself.

I see ADHD as both my superpower and my kryptonite. It might have caused struggles in my life, but I strongly believe it has the potential to be my greatest asset. It’s time I create the world that fits my mind and my ideal, not someone else’s.

disorder
3

About the Creator

Tyler C Clark

I'm a poet who discovered a love for fiction. This seems like a good place to stretch my legs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.