Psyche logo

A Witchtok Awakening

What I learned when I didn't want it.

By Amanda DoylePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
3
Photo by Elia Pellegrini on Unsplash.com

My spiritual awakening began in 2021.

Even though it's silly, it began with TikTok.

At the start of 2021, I started to use TikTok more. It wasn't long before I was seeing videos pop up on my for you page about spirituality, crystals, tarot, and more. A lot of these videos were tagged #witchtok.

I was super interested and wanted to expand this knowledge. At first, I used TikTok as a space to learn and gain a lot of new information. I wasn't sure what other spaces there were for spirituality, and TikTok was the most accessible.

I got my first tarot reading in the spring of 2021. I found a reader that I really resonated and connected with, and I got the reading. I was upset after it, because the reading said that somebody in my life would be departing. This was my first tarot reading, so I was scared. I was worried for my relationships.

As time went on, my relationship with one particular friend was deteriorating. It came to a point where I had to cut off the relationship in order to move forward. So when I looked back on the reading I had received a month or so earlier, I thought, "huh, you know, she was actually right..."

As I started to get into spirituality, so many different ideas went through my head. One thing I knew was that I was super interested in this, and I loved to share information, so I came up with a new idea.

I thought maybe I could coach people spiritually, learn along with them, teach them what I was learning about manifestation and tarot and so much more. I worked with a couple of my cousins for a few weeks, and then fell out of it, like I do with most things.

Next, I fell in love with tarot. I wanted to share this gift, and I started selling my readings on Etsy. In the summer, I started getting into crystals. I realized that Etsy had a lot of small crystal shops. I went to the flea market, and I found crystals. I even discovered a metaphysical shop downtown that I became obsessed with for a bit. It seems like crystals were pushing their way into my life, and I couldn't stop it, even if I wanted to.

By the end of the summer, I was planning to move away from Etsy. I wanted to bring crystals into my shop, and so The Metaphysical Method was born. My small online crystal shop made a few sales, but made a huge impact on my life.

I felt responsible for something bigger than me, something important. I really felt like I had something to live for.

By this period, I had moved away from TikTok learning. I'll admit, this wasn't the most productive way to learn, but you can find some good information on there. I was now reading books and looking into other resources.

In the fall, I started to experience a mini dark night of the soul, at least when it came to tarot, as well as some aspects of spirituality. I eventually ended up not doing tarot at all for a little while, and I pulled tarot readings off of my shop.

I was still interested in crystals, and I kept my shop open, though there wasn't much activity. Through the fall and into the winter, I didn't want to believe in what the universe had to offer me. I wasn't willing to push through my self-limiting beliefs in order to grow and thrive into the space I was given.

I was given such a wonderful space where I can be free to feel however I want to feel, whenever I want to feel, and embrace all of it. I am frequently encouraged to cry, let it out, and communicate in my home.

I think our spaces are important. When I was growing up, my space felt mostly free. But moving out on my own, that's when I always felt limited. I frequently ended up living with people whose energy didn't match with mine. I am HUGE on energy. The energy always needs to feel fluid and positive.

But now I'm back into a space where I feel free. I am being called to explore my passions, learn more, and reflect on my shadow side. I have been working through my traumatic experiences in therapy, and this form of shadow work is taking a lot out of me.

I consider spirituality and mental health to be interconnected, and perhaps even one in the same sometimes. All mental health topics relate to spirituality because spirituality is ultimately about becoming the best version of yourself. When we work on our own mental health, we try to improve ourselves.

The goals from mental health work and spiritual work are the same - to become a more enlightened version of yourself, one that moves through the world with grace.

And I mention this so much because mental health has always been extremely relevant in my life. I have always struggled with mental health, and finding my identity, and discovering my spiritual side, and I think all of those things are connected.

The point of this article is to tell you that a spiritual awakening is not something that happens within a year and then dissipates forever.

I believe that we experience our spiritual awakenings in waves, just as how we experience our mental illnesses in waves. Feelings come and go. Everything comes and goes.

The good news is that I'm doing tarot regularly again, and even offering readings in my shop. I'm learning again. I'm back into a stable routine.

If you know my story, you know that it took a long time for me to get here.

My spiritual awakening has not ended and it is not over - in fact, a lifetime of spiritual awakenings and experiences has just begun.

humanity
3

About the Creator

Amanda Doyle

Currently in my bad bitch era.

Online authenticity coach and tarot guide, here to help you become the most genuine version of yourself online.

Unleash your inner magic with me and own your unique journey!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.