Proof logo

White Meats Green

A good white wine with green vegetables.

By Agnes LaurensPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
White Meats Green
Photo by Caroline Attwood on Unsplash

Ok, I haven't drunk wine in a very long time. But mostly I drink wine when I am with friends or when there are occasions for, such as Christmas and birthdays. Those are occasions I allow myself to drink a glass of wine at.

I always drink white wine. It is very sweet, a little bit bitter, and dry at the same time, as well as very taste full when you try it with different kind of dishes (which I have a lot).

White wine fits with so many different kind of dishes. And there are so many choices of white wine to choose from. And those choices are getting bigger and bigger each time I come into the grocery store.

I don't like to drink red wine. I don't like the taste at all, but above not liking the taste, I get a huge amount of a headache the next morning. This headache hurts the next morning so much that I rather not to drink a glass of red wine. So, the choice has been made fast for what kind of wine I choose while having dinner. I drank red wine a few times, but I don't like the bitter taste of it, not so sweet (which I love much more). You really have to buy a more expensive red wine to have a better taste of red wine.

So, when I drink white wine, what should I eat with that? Also, the choices are immense too, as said. And what sort of wine should I choose with what kind of dish? What is the occasion? Who are coming over for dinner? What do my company love? Those questions I ask myself before buying white wine.

I am half Indonesian and half Dutch.

When I was a child, I ate Nasi Goreng (Fried rice) often. This was a dish with green beans, rice, satay sauce and kroepoek – Krupuk in Indonesian.

I always have loved this dish very much. My father could make this dish perfectly, the way I liked it. This reminds me of my youth.

I never thought of eating this dish again until I got my first child. When I was pregnant of her, I just wanted to eat that dish. So, I called my father how to make it.

I couldn't make it as good as my father did. So many memories of this overly delicious dish. When I first drank my white wine, that was with this dish – of course when I didn't need to breastfeed my child.

My father used to make the green beans tender, neither too hard nor too soft. Exactly right. As I liked it. I always got rice with it and a lot of satay sauce. My father prepared the satay sauce with chopped onions, garlic, coconut milk, water and peanut butter. He stirred that into a very creamy paste.

My father was always good at cooking Indonesian. He is also from Indonesia.

But with this dish I always add a glass of white Chardonnay, because I always get a nice round taste in my mouth, and in combination with the ingredients of my Nasi Goreng, the whole mixes into a beautifully refined combination. My mouth watered again.

Can you imagine how this refined soft combination taste? Delicious!

You can try it at home and spoil your family with this delicious recipe.

I also remember that my grandmother made this recipe. A little bit different from my father made. My grandmother put spicy pepper through the satay sauce. I also remember that I didn't like that spicy pepper at all. And when my father made it, he didn't use the spicy pepper, so I was used to that taste, and therefore I also was a little bit confused about it.

I think, with the hot pepper, that another kind of white wine fits best, a more dry one. Pepper always is hot, then you shouldn't do a sweet white wine. But in this case, a good red wine fits well too. Just try with what you like the most.

Last year I tried to make this dish myself, but I couldn't make it like my father and like my grandmother made it. They both love Indonesian food a lot. They're born with it. And I love that. This also makes me think to keep continuing this and try more Indonesian food. Of course with a good glass of white sweet wine.

wine
Like

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.