Blush logo

What To Do When Your Teenage Daughter Steals Your Beauty Products

A story about what you should do when your teenage daughter steals your beauty products and how you handle those situations.

By Agnes LaurensPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
What To Do When Your Teenage Daughter Steals Your Beauty Products
Photo by Jess @ Harper Sunday on Unsplash

Raising children can be a tough task now and then. I have done it since the age of nineteen.

Now my oldest daughter is thirteen years old, and she is in the second class of high school. This is an age that she looks around what her friends is using for products or just nothing at all.

That means that she is at an age that she might be using (beauty) products. I believe it is a very young age to start using it, but hair products are fine, is my opinion. But I also have to watch out for what I buy and who is using my products.

I use hair products very often, such as (dry) hair shampoo, conditioner, hairspray and much more. I store my products in my own drawer, so everyone at home knows they are mine and are not allowed to use those products because they are my favorite products, and I only want to use them for myself.

I highly believe that these bottles will be empty before I know it when everyone uses them (and I didn't see it happening). I hate that. Not that everything is mine, I highly believe in sharing, but most of my beauty products I got from people for birthdays and when I said goodbye with companies or organizations, that is why those products are precious to me.

Maybe I am too sentimental with these kinds of things.

I needed to find a solution for this problem too.

I think I have found a few solutions for you. Check out what is best for you and how you can handle these situations.

1. Mark everything with your name

2. Buy two of each for your teenage child

3. Tell them to buy their own products

Mark everything with your name

One option is to mark all your (beauty) products with your name. This could be a lot of work, but worth it somehow when you have the energy to do so. It sounds a little bit childish too, but when nobody listened to your request, you have to name your products, so everyone knows these products are yours. I did it too once, but no one cared about this at all, so I stopped doing that.

Anyways, this might actually work when there are people at home – especially teenagers – who are ignoring your requests not to use your products. Even when you requested it for a million times.

When you have a family who appreciates your requests, then this might be a great solution to solve this problem, even when it takes a lot of energy.

Buy two of each for your teenage child

Another option is to buy the same product double and or the amount that is needed for each member of the household (or their favorite products).

I think your household members appreciate it if you thought about them too when you buy one for them.

That is what my teenage daughter does.

I got too much (beauty) products in my life too and I still have them from years ago. So they will appreciate if you also buy a package for them too, and this is a great other solution.

And holidays are also a great period to buy their favorite products as much as you can for your loved ones. Some might like that, some might not appreciate that.

My teenagers love to get beauty products as a holidays gift. Secretly, I also love to get those beauty products for myself, haha, such as shampoo, shower gel, skin cream.

I already have a box full of make-up. That is not what I need anymore. I don't really do a lot with that, but I love to have as a reserve for in case.

Tell them to buy their own products

As my oldest two daughters get money every month. So they can buy whatever they want from that amount of money. Like my oldest get 15 euros per month. So, she could buy her own shampoo that she truly love to use. And then I don't mind if she emptied it at once.

And this way she will learn how to spend her money, or save for whatever she wants to have, or she could save for later.

When others in the household is using your products, just tell them to buy their own, so you can have your own product you truly love to use. They will look at you very weird. Sometimes it is worth those looks, so you can fully enjoy your products.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.