Proof logo

It's in the Blood

Dreams often foretell us things that in the waking life we would not see. Dana, a basic girl, always felt like she was meant to run a Mezcal business but living in San Diego, she does not know the first thing about making Mezcal. Little does she know that a man with a little black book would change her life... forever.

By Sara del ToroPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

It was about 12 noon, I was riding my black horse; Catastros through an enormous maguey field. There were so many century plants, it went miles down. I was riding to my favorite tree where I was to meet my godfather. I was sweating so much that the breeze from riding felt so good. I was almost there when all of a sudden I heard a loud jarring noise and the earth started to split. Catastros whined and jumped and I fell immediately but I never make it to the ground... I wake up before that.

I always have a dream like this one. I have had them since I can remember. I could always feel the dry heat, and I always see those century plants. I know what they produce: Mezcal, a drink similar to tequila but yet so very different. I always felt this pull to this kind of business that I always find myself considering it. I would have to save so much money and get various investors that I always convince myself out of it.

It is dark, cold and 5am. I let out a sigh and get up. I stopped snoozing after I learned the five second hack. It takes your mind about five seconds to make a decision. You slowly count to five and you make a choice, it has been a life changer. I like to think I’ve got about a quarter of my life figured out but that can get a bit difficult when society screams failure if you do not have a college degree. I tried community college but couldn't do it. On the bright side I don’t have crippling student debt.

Today I wore a lovely linen button up shirt that I scored at crossroads, some blacks slacks, Doc Marten boots and I braided my hair, then I made my way to the kitchen which is such a small trip because my single is 460sqft. It's a little laughable, but I like privacy and in San Diego it's this in an alright area or something bigger in a place you cannot leave anything in your car. Breakfast today is some sourdough toast, cream cheese, egg, and avocado with matcha, vanilla oat milk and some berries.

I like my life, it's so simple, I have all I need and don't want anything else. It takes me a while to save up for a trip but that's ok. I drive a 2016 Kia Soul that I finished paying off a year ago and that I rely on for work. I drive for uber, lyft and do instacart. The flexibility, the freedom, I absolutely love it. It’s 6am now and off I go to see what the day will bring. As I grab my backpack and jacket to leave my apartment I get a weird feeling, I speak to my grandma to watch over me and continue on.

I turn the car on and immediately turn my music on then play eenie meenie miney moe to choose between uber or lyft. Lyft won and I sign in and immediately get a rider. I go…

At 12pm I get hungry and go back to my house for lunch. I made a salad with spinach, tomatoes, feta, cucumber, chicken breast and some mochi. I am enjoying my lunch while watching Outlander when I hear a knock on the door. I go open it and I see a man with a great grey mustache. He has a little black book on his hands and he looks up from it and asks, “I am looking for Dana de los Montes.”

I get a puzzled look on my face and slowly reply, “ Thats me…”

“Good afternoon, I am Pablo Guzman, the lawyer handling Andres Hidalgo’s last will and testament. I will need you to accompany me please.” I give him a weird look as I had never heard that name in my life. “I am so sorry sir, i believe you have the wrong person, i do not know who that person is or have I ever heard of him.” He clears his throat before saying,” There is no easy way to say this but he is or was your biological father, he has a big company and a big family, and you happen to be in his will.”

I try to chuckle, “I need you to accompany me to see that this affair gets handled in a discreet and professional way.” I look at him, “ Sir, I have never heard of this man until today, the only dad I know is probably at home trying to go on a walk with my mom.” The lawyer looks at his watch. “It is 1pm, I know it is shocking, I do apologize but you have inherited more than just money but I need you to go with me to my office so you can know everything about the process and make it so you get what your father has left you.” He goes on to say, “ It's a lot to digest. I will come back again tomorrow and hope that you are more aware of the situation.” More aware of the situation?! My mind was going absolutely everywhere. I didn't reply and saw as the man got in his Tesla and drove off.

I go back into my apartment and grab my stuff, get into my toaster car and drive to my parents house. I get there, and I probably looked awful because immediately my mom asked if I was okay. I chuckle, and ask her if dad was home. She says no and I immediately seat her at the table and look deep into her eyes and I say “Andres Hidalgo.”

Her mouth opened and her eyes got so big. I sigh. “Mom, who is that man?” She instantly looks so sad, and she puts her head down and I see tears streaming down her face. She lets out a sigh and tells me that Andres Hidalgo was her first love and that that man was indeed my biological father. She goes on to say that she had left him in Mexico because they were young and foolish, and that his family did not like her. I asked if he was rich. She said that while they were dating his father had started a mezcal business so they were not rich but she had heard that they had made it big. She goes on to say that she left with me to the U.S and met my step dad a little after moving to San Diego and that the rest was history. There is so much more she said but my mind was fuzzy.

“Mom, why didn't you tell me this earlier? I am twenty two years old!” I didn't mean to scream but I was furious! “First tell me how you came to know that name.” I tell her about the lawyer and the inheritance. “It is a bad idea to get involved. I cannot tell you that you cannot go, but that money is not yours, that family is not yours. Listen to me, all that can come from this is not good.” I knew she was right but Mezcal? My dreams, how does that happen? I had to, I couldn't ignore this. I had to know at least a little of this. I know I didn't fully process this and that it will catch up eventually but I go with the flow and the sea is sending a tsunami, where else am I to go? I preferred to go with the crashing waves. I snap out of it and tell my mom that I need some space to digest everything and will call her when I am ready to talk.

I always appreciated how she raised me, minus the whole hiding a big part of my identity but it will make sense as time goes by.

The next day I wait for the lawyer to show up. When he did, off we went to his office. It's a nice fancy building of course. He offers me a seat in a nice leather chair and I take the seat. He says, “Questions, i know you have them. Let's hear them.” I ask about the will and what exactly did it say. The lawyer tells me that the man had ten kids total and that each should receive 20,000 immediately, if they are over the age of 16, if they are younger they will have that money when they turn 16. He goes on to tell me that I, being the oldest one, had a choice. The lawyer got intensely serious as he said, “ You have a chance to manage his company. Business school would be paid in full, there will be counselors of course and the whole team would be at your disposal to make sure the transition is swift. You have a chance at becoming a young C.E.O of a grand company.” I gulp, “Why?” The lawyer states that he was the man's best friend and that the guy never stopped loving my mom and how he always wanted to meet me but has always respected my mom's wishes.” I like that the lawyer gives answers right away, I can tell he doesn't like to waste time. I like that.

“My mom told me his family didn't like her and that that was the reason she left. Do they know that this is in the will?” He looks down at his desk and takes out his little black book. “Your dad's family is enormous, your grandpa still lives, as well as your grandma. They are very sad that this has happened but they cannot interfere with your fathers last wishes.” Oh wow, I had not even questioned how the dude died. “How did he die?” The lawyer looks down again, “Horseback accident. He died about a week ago.” My eyes open wide. This all seems so weird. It all seems like a spanish soap opera my mom would watch. I can imagine all of it. If i accept to learn and go to business school and run this company, which no doubt would be so cool, all the other kids, how would they react. And worse, what if I have an evil uncle who wants to be incharge or an evil aunt? And the evil grandparents? A perfect plot for disaster.

I breathe in and I breathe out, slowly. I count down from 5. Four, three, two, one, “I’ll take the twenty grand and call it a day old man.” Yeah, the old man wasn't necessary, I felt bad saying it after I did but I needed to show I did not care too much for this. The lawyer hands me out his card and says that I only have a short amount of time to think about this before it goes to another family member who might destroy the company. I shake my head and he goes, “okay. When this is all finalized, you will get a check in the mail.” I shake his hand and start to walk out, “What is the name of the company?” The lawyer looks at the wall. There in gold fancy cursive letters read Mezcal & Tequila Liliana. I gasped so loud. Liliana is my mothers name! When i reach the office door he says that there will be a chauffeur waiting outside to take me home. I nod my head and go outside. I get in the car and tell the chauffeur I am so thankful and then spend the entire car ride thinking. There is so much more to this. Was I meant to accept the offer, to become a business owner at a young age? I never cared for money, and I always went with the flow but I was at a complete loss of what to do. But I knew deep down that I could not refuse this.

To be continued...

literature
Like

About the Creator

Sara del Toro

Mr.Koon, an old odd first grade teacher made me realize writing was one of the paths I could walk on... and so I find myself walking this peculiar path and awaiting where it shall lead me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.