Pride logo

The Way I am

the 8 years old me was clueless but feel different

By jl de losPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
1

“A Rainbow behind the Clouds”

As a person living with this kind of personality and gender preference, I serve as a clown for others. A clown that only used just for fun. A victim of bullying that was driven by tons of criticisms, judgement and hate. This became as the reason why I consider myself as a rainbow behind the clouds. Don't worry this is just the beginning of my story.

I grew up in a family that is patriarchal wherein my grandfather is the one who controlled us. As a result of this I chose to hide my real personality. Moreover, I also pretend as a straight man that they supposed me to be. As time passes by, when I grow older, after the death of my grandfather I realized that there is so much emptiness in my heart and I feel like I am not happy for being this. With this, I started to embrace myself and I slowly spread my wings to free myself in the cage that I and the people around me created. Just like anyone when I start to be open about the gender that I have I became the subject of those bullies. They always criticize me just because I am gay. These criticisms push me to doubt in myself. I started to question myself with so many what if. One of those what if is that, what if I just keep on hiding and pretending? One day after having these kind of questions I realized that being this is not a problem at all. I redeemed myself and I stand once again with confidence and love for myself.

For so many years that I am hiding, I can definitely say that right now I am a rainbow that is not behind the clouds, but rather I am a rainbow that can be seen in front of the darkest cloud. This is me and this is my story. Always remember that, always choose the things that will make you free and happy even though it wasn't good for many. At the end of the day choosing the best for yourself is the right thing to do. You cannot please everyone so please yourself instead for the rainbow to overcome the heavy clouds.

Being gay in a tough and unforgiving world can provide particular obstacles. Nonetheless, despite the challenges they confront, countless people continue to display remarkable courage and persistence. This essay dives into the hardships and successes of a gay person trying to survive and prosper in the face of adversity.

The road to self-acceptance can be difficult for many LGBT people. Society's rules and expectations can be harsh, making individuals feel like outcasts plagued by emotions of guilt and loneliness. Coming to terms with one's sexuality and embracing one's actual self frequently means dealing with discrimination, rejection, and prejudice. It takes enormous fortitude to break free from these shackles and embrace one's true identity.

Despite progress toward acceptance and equality, prejudice against the LGBTQ+ community endures. Gay people endure discrimination in many areas of life, including school, employment, and housing. This severe treatment can lead to mental health disorders such as depression and anxiety, aggravating their difficulties. Hate crimes and violent attacks against the gay community serve as vivid reminders of the injustices they face.

Finding love and making lasting connections can be especially tough for homosexual people. Prejudice and societal pressure can make it difficult for people to express their feelings honestly. Many people are afraid of being judged or rejected, so they keep their emotions buried. This search for love and connection can be emotionally taxing, resulting in feelings of loneliness and vulnerability.

Despite such adversity, many gay people have extraordinary tenacity and resolve to survive. They discover the courage inside themselves and their community to overcome the cruelty they witness. They form support networks and seek comfort from friends, family, and organizations that campaign for LGBTQ+ rights. This sense of belonging enables individuals to persevere and thrive in the face of hardship.

Allies are critical in creating an inclusive environment. Friends, family, and supportive communities can provide a secure environment for homosexual people to be themselves without fear of being judged. These supporters play an important role in the process toward acceptance and healing by demonstrating compassion and sensitivity.

Despite the cruelty, many gay people become outspoken advocates for LGBTQ+ rights and equality. They band together with other like-minded people and groups to combat discriminatory laws and practices. They hope to raise awareness and promote acceptance by sharing their tales and experiences, paving the path for a more inclusive society.

Being gay and dealing with the cruelties of life can be quite difficult, but the tenacity and fortitude displayed by these folks is absolutely amazing. They pave the way for a more compassionate and understanding world by overcoming adversity, seeking acceptance, and striving for equality. As allies and supporters, we can work together to create a culture in which everyone, regardless of sexual orientation, may live authentically and thrive. Let us celebrate variety, encourage empathy, and

Pop CultureIdentityHumanityEmpowermentCultureRelationshipsPride MonthCommunity
1

About the Creator

jl de los

hi! good day to you I would love to share some of my experience and some academics work that might help you to gain knowledge or idea:) anyway have a nice day guys!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.