Pride logo

Songs That Stick Like Glitter, A Pride Playlist

From your favourite LGBT+ artists and some hidden gems you may not have heard of

By Rachel M.JPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Songs That Stick Like Glitter, A Pride Playlist
Photo by h heyerlein on Unsplash

June 2021 marks the the 51st anniversary of the first ever pride-march. For those of us who are still in lockdown, pride celebrations might look a little more like Netflix in bed with a jumbo bag of Doritos, but that doesn't mean you have to completely surrender all your pride-celebration staples.

Since the early 1900's music, dance, and notably, glitter have been important signals to denote diversity in gender and sexual orientation. This can be traced back to drag performers wearing glitter in the early to mid 1900's and LGBT+ icons Cher, David Bowie, and Prince in the late 1900's who used sequins, body paint, and lustrous eye-make up as forms of self-expression.

Weather you'll be hitting the town for your celebrations or vibing it at home, there is no need to surrender the celebration staples. The following playlist features a collection of LGBT+ singers, both well-loved and under-rated, featuring dance, empowering lyrics, and of course - tonnes of glitter.

Electric Love by BORNS

Glitter was promised, and here is a healthy serve. Electric Love feels like a nostalgic trip down 80's lane, but it was actually released in 2014. Borns music is indie-rock, with Electric Love specifically being classic glam-rock. His fashion and vocals have been described as androgynous, and his sense of style and musical talents have drawn the attention of Gucci and singer-song-writer Lana Del Rey - of both whom he has since collaborated with.

While the video-clip provides plenty to feast your eyes upon, credit must be given to the brilliant imagery created by lyrics such as;

Baby, you're like lightning in a bottle

I can't let you go now that I got it

And all I need is to be struck

By your electric love

Make Me Feel by Janelle Monáe

Ah, the Q.U.E.E.N of pride herself, Janelle Monáe. Prodigy of Prince, Janelle catches eyes with her captivating dance and eccentric stylisation. I can't decide if I'm more entranced by her donning a suit-jacket or when she's dressed in fishnets and a diamante head-piece. Her 'Make Me Feel' music video features romantic interest, Tessa Thompson (from the Avengers films), and many sparkling costume changes.

Janelle is also known for her shocking lyrics in songs like 'Pynk' and 'Django Jane', but Make Me Feel keeps it relatively low key, with lyrics such as;

It's like I'm powerful with a little bit of tender

An emotional, sexual bender

Mess me up, yeah, but no one does it better

There's nothin' better

Marry the Night by Lady Gaga

I don't think I'll ever forget Adam Lambert's performance of Marry The Night on Glee. As entertaining as it was though, nothing beats the original. Like all of Lady Gaga's 'short-films' it's worth watching the piece before the song. While the song stands alone as a fantastic ballad, the short-sequence beforehand sets a scene for a song that urges you to not only embrace, but to celebrate yourself.

My favourite line in the entire video is before the song even begins; "you may say I lost everything, but I still had my bedazzler", a close second is;

I'm gonna lace up my boots

Throw on some leather and cruise

Down the street that I love

In my fishnet gloves

I'm a sinner

Golden by Harry Styles

Once you're done with this playlist, take a trip down the YouTube rabbit hole and try searching 'Harry Styles wholesome moments' - you might arise from your hiatus only to realise pride-month has passed you by. While 'Golden' stands on it's own as a beautiful song, it's best enjoyed with the visuals so you can simultaneously feast your eyes upon Harry's signature fashion, painted nails, and infectious-grin.

The chorus mentions a mystery person who is 'too bright' for Harry Styles, which - frankly - is incomprehensible;

I know you were way too bright for me

I'm hopeless, broken

So you wait for me in the sky

Browns my skin just right

Dance Alone by Tayla Parx

While 'Dance Alone' modestly sits at under 500,000 views on YouTube at the time of writing, Tayla Parx is well known for her expert song-writing skills. She's written for Normani, Arianna Grande, and Panic at the Disco. Her dancing gives me 'Janelle Monáe rising from a slumber' vibes, in the best way possible. She's also showcasing exactly what we might need to be doing this pride-month; dancing alone in her pyjamas under a disco-ball.

It's impossible to summarise Tayla's lyrical genius with just a few lines, but here's a taste;

Left foot, right, two-steppin' on a high note, hey

The room keep spinning from a message in a bottle

Disco lights really bring out your eyes

Whatever the rhythm, we always on tempo, hey

Midnight Sky by Miley Cyrus

In case you haven't noticed Miley Cyrus has spent the last few years re-branding herself as a, uh... electro-pop-punk-rock-alternative mullet-donning, glittering-slinging, pantheresque creature who knows how to wield a microphone, and well... it kind of works. Miley is best enjoyed as a lucky-dip - you take what you're given and you make the most of it. Midnight Sky's promise is a sparkling ballad for embracing your freedom-

Which is exactly what Miley did after ending her long-term relationship with Liam Hemsworth;

Fire in my lungs, can't bite the devil on my tongue, oh no

I don't need to be loved by you

See my lips on her mouth, everybody's talking now, baby

Ooh, you know it's true, yeah

Regardless by RAYE

One day I thought I'd discovered an indie artist with RAYE's 'Please Don't Touch', and the next, she was featuring in a David Guetta song on the radio. While RAYE's lyrics don't explicitly state an LGBT+ identity, her songs explore LGBT+ themes throughout her album 'Euphoric Love Songs'. I also implore you to take a moment to appreciate her endearing mixture of chaos and glamour in the Regardless music video.

For more LGBT themes consider listening to 'Natalie Don't', but in the mean time enjoy these lyrics;

Call me when you're heading home

I got things I need to say that I can't say to you over the telephone

Four, five glasses all alone

Boys and girls just come and go

In My Blood by The Veronicas

You might know Australian duo Lisa and Jessica Origliasso from songs such as 'Untouched' and 'Hook Me Up'. If not, you might have heard of Jessica from her romantic-relationship with actress Ruby Rose. The Veronica's have been frequent performers at pride parades, and in 2016 they stirred up controversy by performing 'In My Blood' at the ARIA's while wearing nothing but skin tight pants and red body-glitter.

Grind you down into my bones

You're the magic dust that gets me stoned

You're the hallelujah on my throne

Baby stay with me, stay with me

Hellboy by Grayson Chance

Does anyone remember that sweet boy from the Ellen show that performed Lady Gaga's 'Paparazzi' back in 2010? Well, he's still making music. He came out as gay in 2017, and one of his latest, 'Hellboy' gives off major 'Call me by your Name' vibes. Puberty only seemed to improve his voice; he still hits the high-notes, but he's added a gruff baritone to his repertoire.

I encourage you to listen to the transition between verse and chorus at 1:30; and then listen to it again... and again... and again...

Ooh, burning icicle blue ; It's like a forbidden fruit ; And I want it so, want it so

Hands tied, bite your lip ,

Green light, flip and twist

Dark magic, red boot kick

Palace by Hayley Kiyoko

Hayley Kiyoko has had a swift rise in popularity since the release of her second EP in 2015, but did you know that she acted in films such as Scooby-Doo and Lemonade Mouth? If not, you might know her for her LGBT+ anthem, 'Girls Like Girls'. Her discography features many songs exploring her love for both men and women, as well as lyrics depicting stunning imagery, particularly in 'Palace'.

If you've got lock-down blues this pride-month, plug in some earphones and listen to the glitter drip from the ceiling as Hayley Kiyoko serenades you with;

Turn your shattered dreams into rhapsodies

This is where I'll keep you in my mind ; I need you to be free

So this is where I'll leave ya

Sitting in a palace covered in gold, inside my head

And there you have it - everything you'll need to keep your celebrations rambunctious and euphoric, as well as some new LGBT+ artists to add to your personal playlists. Just don't come for me when you're still picking glitter off your bed-sheets in July-

Happy pride!

For the Spotify Playlist, click here

Pride Month

About the Creator

Rachel M.J

Magical realist

I like to write about things behaving how they shouldn't ~

Instagram: Rachel M.J

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rachel M.JWritten by Rachel M.J

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.