Pride logo

Playlist for the Newly Discovered

Nothing's wrong with a little bit of Gay :)

By Justice JudgePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Playlist for the Newly Discovered
Photo by The Creative Exchange on Unsplash

I have always been told that I listen to "Gay" music. Now, I am unsure as to if this means it is literally gay or if it meant it was bad.

Music is a crucial part of everyone's lives. It helps express your thoughts, feelings, and problems. Our attraction too.

1. American Blood- Dead Poet Society

2. Sweater Weather- The Neighborhood

3. Captain Hook- Megan Thee Stallion

4. The Curse Of Curves- Cute Is What We Aim For

5. Scary Love- The Neighborhood

6. Daddy Issues- The Neighborhood

7. Rue- Girl In Red

8. Bad Idea- Girl In Red

9. Afraid- The Neighborhood

10. Anxiety- Palaye Royale

11. Wires- The Neighborhood

12. Happy Pills- Weathers

13. Lowkey As Hell- Waterparks

14. Strawberry Lipstick- Yungblud

15. Parents- Yungblud

16. Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High?- Arctic Monkeys

17. Alanis' Interlude- Halsey, Alanis Morissette

18. Heart Eyes- Call Me Karizma

19. R U Mine?- Arctic Monkeys

20. Raise Your Glass- P!nk

Guys, I am not, by any means, saying you will love these songs. But I know I do. These songs helped me deal with what I was feeling when I felt like I couldn't tell my parents about my bisexuality. (Yes, bisexuality isn't a big deal to all of the "real gays" but it was to me and my family.)

Grappling with some of these changes are really difficult. Especially when that isn't something that is really excepted in the life that you are living. With that being said, I felt like I kind of had to be discreet about how I was feeling. I like the fact that the songs that are my Pride Anthems, are songs that you have to read into in order to see how it is a Pride Anthem to me.

I am not a person that is for the Taylor Swift music. However, I will admit that she is quite a talented artist. Just not my style. When I was, like, 6 I really like We Are Never Getting Back Together. But guys, I was 6. Now I listen to songs about suicide, sex, drugs, and mental problems. That sounds problematic and probably raises a few eyebrows, (and questions.)

Also, there is the whole idea of Christianity vs. homosexuality. Guys, my dad is a Christian. Not a die hard, quoting the bible, kind of Christian, (I have no doubt that he can quote the bible,) so, of course, I was hesitant about popping out of that suffocating closet with the, "I LIKE GIRLS!!"

If I am being honest, being discreet about my "half-gayness" made me understand how much better I felt acknowledging that part of my identity. I guess it allowed me to grapple with the difference between a phase and my legitimate sexual preferences.

So, I came out to my dad and my family quite recently. I admit, my dad was, and still is, uncomfortable with it, but I haven't been shamed or casted away.

These songs helped me feel what I was feeling in a sort of healthy way. That is something I will always hang on too. I know, they aren't Taylor Swift or any other traditional Gay anthems but I don't really listen to that kind of music. And for that reason, Dear Reader, I recommend that you listen to any one of these songs.

Pride Month
2

About the Creator

Justice Judge

She/ Her

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.