Pride logo

People ask brokers

People ask brokers

By craig howardPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

Legend has it that once upon a time there was a famous liar named Berhaoto. Berhaoto has two partners. One day, he told his two companions his story with great interest

You see, I have been telling lies since I was eight years old, and now I have developed the habit of telling one lie a year. The only reason I lied was to get rid of the slavers. The funny thing was that my lies always came true, so the slavers gave me a headache and had no choice but to take me to the slave market again and again.

Once again, I was taken to the slave market by a slave trader. He commissioned a broker to sell me, and told the broker to explain my faults to the buyer. So the broker did as he asked, and announced aloud to the crowd in the market: "This is a slave with a special defect, who will take it?"

"What are his special faults?" People ask brokers.

'He tells a lie once a year to deceive his master, but apart from that, he's pretty good.'

"Is there money for him?" "Asked a merchant, coming forward.

"Yes, it has come to six hundred."

"Well, I'll buy him and give you twenty dollars in silver."

So the broker brokered the deal between the slaver and the merchant. After seeing them exchange money with each other, the broker took me to the merchant's house to explain myself, and then happily took twenty dollars for the commission.

The merchant found me a suit suited to my position, and told me to change into it. From then on he was my new master. I obeyed, and waited on my master with all my might. In the blink of an eye to the harvest season of the next year, because of the good weather, the harvest of food, every family put on a big banquet, drinking music, celebrate the harvest.

On this day, my master was no exception in his estate outside the city held a sumptuous banquet, inviting his business colleagues and relatives and friends to celebrate the harvest year together. In the middle of the day, my master suddenly remembered that he had forgotten something, and gave me instructions:

"You ride your mule home at once, and fetch from Missis what I want, and bring it to me at once, quickly!"

I led away and hurried home. As I approached the door, I suddenly let out a roar and burst into hoarse tears. The cry alarmed the neighborhood, and people gathered from the streets to watch the scene. Then the ladies and ladies heard my cry and opened the door to see what was going on. Seeing me in pain and tears, he asked me what had happened. So I broke down in tears and told them,

"The master and his friends were sitting under an old wall, eating and talking happily, when the old wall suddenly fell down and crushed them all. I was at a loss when I saw this, but then I thought I must tell my wife, and I hurried back."

On hearing the sudden news, the ladies and girls immediately beat their chests and cried. They tore their clothes wildly and slapped themselves in the face. People saw this scene, hurried forward to comfort. By this time, the hostess had completely lost her mind and rushed into the house in a daze, smashing everything in sight. Furniture Windows and walls were smashed. And as she did so, she said to me,

"Berhaoto, you damn thing, what are you standing there doing? Come and help me."

Identity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.