Pride logo

Facebook Group Named After Ghana's VP Has Labeled FixTheCountry Activist "Gay" This Is Liken to Assassination & Terrorism on The Life of Oliver Barker-Vormawor

Who ever runs this group should be sued and charged with terrorism

By IwriteMywrongsPublished 5 months ago 8 min read
Like
Collage Created by Author

Tuesday, 28 November 2023

By: TB Obwoge

In Ghana, just for writing this and some of the things I've written about the happenings in the country could end my life. These are the types of things that would also land Ghanian journalists in jail. Ghana under Akufo-Addo isn't a country of freedom or justice.

This is the pure hatred and ignorance you'll find in Ghana if you ever speak out about treating humans with dignity and respect. Especially if those humans are homosexuals.

There have been many incidents in Ghana of people being "accused" of being homosexuals, they've been beaten and even raped. Yes, rape against a man in Ghana isn't considered a crime, corrective rape in Ghana is well documented.

Men can easily rape a woman in Ghana in a way because of the rape fees that the country claims were abolished, which are still being charged to women and girls.

When women and girls can't afford a rape examination, they then can't report the rape. Ghanians went to Twitter some time ago and had a long chat thread about the country's rape culture.

Families, will even set up a young girl or woman to be raped if they think she's a lesbian, this is the most horrible side of Ghana that many people ignore. In 2023 the increasing crime of femicide is also being ignored, not even Ghana's gender minister has opened her mouth to condemn the growing acts of murder of women in the country.

I've even written here about my sexual assualt by the hands of a Ghana police officer, even went to report this incident and others to Ghana's IGP office. I spoke with his second in command, to this day I still remember how he smelled and the deep breath he took after reading my 4 pages of all the incidents that happened to me while living in Ghana.

Now Ghana's #FixTheCountry activist is being targeted on Facebook for his month of December protests. The calendar includes 10 December, which is a day to protest for all of the rights of Ghanians even those who identify as LGTBQI.

Screenshot from Facebook Post

The first line calls the activist "the gay activist", in a country where people have been beaten and even lost their lives, this is an attack on his life. This is one of the reasons that the activist has decided this is his last year heading the FixTheCountry movement.

In a Facebook post, Barker outlined all that he's lost, all the targets on his life to try and make Ghana a better country for every Ghanian.

My ex a Ghanian in the country had threatened my life once. He said that he would report to his government that I was bringing lesbianism into Ghana via my nonprofit for Women's Rights, gender-equality and Children's rights. I was constantly verbally abused, even hit by him, I hadn't realised how much of a threat that actually was at the time.

It takes time to realize than many Ghanians are blinded by hatred and a serious lack of education about what sexuality even is. Let alone there are many that will accuse you of being gay just for simply saying it's wrong to beat people up who are gay.

It's morally wrong to beat on anyone, in what world does this make you a homosexual? In what world would any government allow people to just freely beat the shit out of other humans, especially without any proof? The short anwer is Ghana!

Back in August of 2023, the US Ambassador to Ghana made comments that earned her death threats from several Ghanians on Facebook. Many of them were removed after several days, some can be found within the over 400 comments. Homosexuality leads to hatred without even thinking in Ghana.

This could clearly lead to this man being on the recieving end of violence in Ghana.

US Ambassador to Ghana, Virginia Palmer, warns that discrimination against LGBTQ+ individuals could convey an unfavorable message to investors

#UTVNews

Edward Madugu

I think Africa should really go to trade wars against every power pushing this cacophony of schizophrenia and destructive agenda.

Leticia Pobee

She can't even pronounce it well mpo...my fwend go and sit down...Ghana does not need that backwards thinking there...

Ing Pagiis Emmanuel

We teach them a lesson if they come and misbehave!

Jema Jama

Virginia please keep quiet and sign the visas for those who wants to travel to USA. Keep your idea and decision on LGBTQ to yourself

Screenshot from Facebook page

Hell I've walked the streets of Accra with simply being a lighter skinned Black American, these are the incidents that have happened to me. I was kicked out of a Bolt car by a driver who said, "I hate you people!" Because he refused to talk to me, I asked him why he wasn't speaking to me, he said he hated my people, when I replied, "ooh you think I'm white?"

Then started laughing he looked me up and down, then pointed to the door and said, "get the fuck out of my car!" I laughed so hard because he was refusing to speak to me, simply because he thought I was white, he kept only trying to speak to the Black Ghanian care taker where I lived, who was standing on the road waiting for someone.

I've also written about how Ghana police and immigration, constantly stopped vehicles I was in to ask for bribery money or to harrash the drivers because of my skin color.

Imagine if they accused me of being a lesbian? I would've surely been beaten, placed in jail or worse. Accusing someone of being a homosexual in Ghana is a death threat.

The United States issued a travel warning for this same reason, the crimes happening to people simply being accused of being gay, let alone the anger against people who simply stand up against brutality against gays. This is the worst form of inhumanity in the world. That people simply are beating others because they "think" they're a homosexual.

In many countries around the world the way some Ghanian men dress, walk and have long finger nails, they'd be accused of being homosexuals. I know when I first arrived in the country and saw how effiminate the men dressed, looked and many wore long nails. It's very confusing, yet it's more men that look this way in the country, to me.

Sharing a post calling this man a homosexual is disgusting, the page has over 40 thousand followers and is using the name of the vice president of Ghana. It should be removed, Meta won't remove it not even for sharing misinformation.

Screenshot from Facebook

Screenshot from UTV NEWS Ghana Facebook Page

Ladies Corner

Yoo, we hear, let us catch you in the act and you will see

Akpaglo John

From my own understand I think he is making sense if you read what he wrote carefully you will understand him. He is not trying to say LGBTQ should be accepted in Ghana but rather condemning the beating aspect because they are also human. Just read well and understand his point of view.

Samuel Apraku Frempong

I have my own reservations on this man. Sometimes the way he dresses even makes him a suspect.

If it's their choice, then it's a choice for someone to also engage in armed robbery wai. If you don't have any good thing to say, please keep mute. We shall not entertain anything.

Saviolla Diz

Sounding like you're part of them

Nana Boakye

Stop that foolishness you are becoming too fool am very disappointed in you this days

Abubakari Khadija

Ever you yourself try that noise and you see want happen to you.

Francis Agumenu

Yes! I suspected him to be one of them

Cobby Tuesday

Proverbs 26:4-5

Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest you be like him yourself. Answer a fool according to his folly, lest he be wise in his own eyes. So my dear Okyeame Kwame, I put it to you that, this is a voice of foolishness. Don’t voice out bad influence into our societies. Is Annika Nsiah a man?

Peace! Shalom

Kwaku Nsanku

Okyeame KWAME will soon receive beatings p33

There were over 400 comments, some even asking did this man have sex with his child. All he said was, beating people wasn't right, beating people without cause is illegal in Ghana. It's illegal in most countries to beat people and hit them.

What did he say that was so wrong? He simply stated not breaking the law in Ghana and beating on gay people was wrong, this earned him hundreds of comments, this is only one social media page that posted his words. There were others, I'm sure there were other threats and comments too.

A Ghanian caring about the rights of all Ghanians, this is what earns a person a beating and death threats. Here though Ghanians don't understand why a country would earn a travel warning.

Hopefully the activist won't lose his life for this, but he's surely now wearing a large target on him being labeled a homosexual in Ghana is a death sentence.

Thank you for reading 🙏🏽 Please consider buying a coffee for Lacey’s House efforts in Gender Equality & Children’s Rights as it tries to move international.

©️TB Obwoge 2023 All Rights Reserved

CommunityHumanityCultureCONTENT WARNINGAdvocacy
Like

About the Creator

IwriteMywrongs

I'm the president of a nonprofit. I've lived in 3 countries, I love to travel, take photos and help children and women around the world! One day I pray an end to Child Marriages, Rape and a start to equal Education for ALL children 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.